Meet our Student Ambassadors

Our Ambassadors Program connects current students with interested candidates to discuss the McGill program, living in Montreal etc.

The Student Ambassador Program connects admitted and prospective candidates with current McGill Law students.

Student ambassadors are keen to share their perspectives with you. They can answer your questions, discuss the McGill Program, provide insights into living in Montreal, show you around the Faculty, and tell you more about the advantages of studying law at McGill.

To contact a ambassador, ambassadors.law [at] mcgill.ca (write to the ambassadors program), indicating which person you'd like to be in touch with.


David, 2L David

Spoken languages: English, French

Academic background: BA in Political Science with Honours and International Relations & Sociology from UBC, IB at Churchill Secondary in Vancouver, two exchanges at NUS in Singapore.

Bio: I hail from Vancouver, and I've crossed the country to make McGill my new home. While at UBC, I was very active in clubs and student organizations, including being the President of the largest social club on campus. My particular academic interests are located in queer and diaspora communities.

Hobbies: I play Ultimate Frisbee and love to cook. I'm also an avid traveller who’s been to over 25 countries so far.


Iradele, 3L Iradele

Spoken languages: English, French

Academic background: I hold a BSc in Psychology from Concordia University and an MPH in Health Promotion from the University of Toronto. I went to the University of Maastricht (Netherlands) on exchanges.  I then worked in health research for five years before returning to law school as a second career. I've also worked at the Public Health Agency of Canada (during the COVID-19 pandemic), and currently volunteer for the Concordia Union Student Legal Information Clinic, and sit on the Admissions Committee for Faculty Council. I'm interested in administrative law, health regulation and its influence on emerging industries like cannabis and psychedelics.

Bio: I'm Alberta homegrown prairie queer, and have lived in Toronto, Montreal, Ohio, and the Netherlands over the past decade. I'm weird and bookish, I write television scripts for fun, host a book-to-movie club, and take great joy in biking, running, and exploring the micro-brew/micro-bud scene.

Reach out if you have any questions about the beauty of a prairie sky in the summer, or if you'd like to know more about the history of JLo's iconic Versace dress. Oh, and also if you have questions about health law, cannabis law, and being a *~*mAtUrE*~* student at McGill.


Mathew, 2L Mathew

Spoken languages: English

Academic background: I have an Honours BA from York University, a Masters of Public Administration from Dalhousie, and a Master of Industrial Relations from Queens University.

Bio: I grew up in Richmond Hill, just north of Toronto, and have family throughout eastern Ontario. I am a mature student: I’ve spent most of my career working in the public service at the federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal levels in either policy development or human resources (labour relations). My previous employers include General Motors of Canada, Government of the Northwest Territories, Government of Canada (Canada Revenue Agency and Canada Border Services Agency), University of Calgary, and City of Toronto.

Hobbies: I like to stay active in my spare time. I enjoy skiing, hiking, canoeing and camping, going to the gym, and playing softball.


Alyssa, 3L Alyssa

Spoken languages: English, French

Academic background: I obtained a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Queen's University with specializations in Philosophy and Political Studies. I also obtained a Certificate of Social Sciences and Humanities from Sciences Po while participating in an international exchange program in Paris, France. During my legal studies at McGill, I have developed a profound interest in criminal law, administrative law, immigration law, and public international law.

Bio: I grew up in Ottawa. I am passionate about public law and I hope to pursue a career in the public interest. One of my favourite aspects of law school has been being able to apply my knowledge from the classroom in practical settings (e.g. by working with Pro Bono Students Canada, the Department of Justice, an immigration law firm, and Legal Aid Montreal). McGill Law has an incredibly supportive community of students and faculty and is a great place to explore your passions and interests through a legal lens.

Hobbies:  When I'm not in the library or watching lectures on Zoom, you can find me exploring Montreal, dancing, cooking, and watching the Office! I'm always eager to chat so please don't hesitate to reach out with any questions!


Xin Yue, 3L

Langues: Français, anglais, mandarin, japonais

Parcours: J’arrive directement du cégep André-Grasset, où j’ai combiné les programmes sciences humaines et administration. J'ai vraiment aimé mes études.

Bio: Je suis immigrante : je suis venue de Chine avec mes parents à l'âge de sept ans. Je suis également non binaire et mes pronoms sont il/he/him/they. J'aime la Faculté parce qu'elle m'a vraiment ouvert l'esprit et m'a permis de rencontrer des gens formidables.

Passe-temps: Dans mes temps libres, j'adore dessiner.


Riley, 3L Riley

Langues: Français, anglais

Parcours: À l’Université de Calgary, j’ai obtenu un bac en français et un autre en philosophie. Je détiens également une maîtrise en français. Pour mon mémoire, je me suis penché sur des questions d’affaires autochtones. Durant mes études antérieures, j’ai fait un échange en France et passé une année scolaire à l’Université Laval à Québec.

Passe-temps: I'm originally from Calgary, and I lived in Ottawa for a bit before coming to law school. Now settled in Montreal, I go to the gym and do Brazilian jiu-jitsu regularly. I nerd out on books of all kinds and am a huge fan of audiobooks.  Je me débrouille très bien en français si vous préférez Molière à Shakespeare.


Darena, 2L Darena

Spoken languages: English, French, Albanian

Academic background: I did my DEC at Marianopolis in the Law, Society and Justice profile, where I was on the Honour Roll (2013-1015). I then completed a BA (with distinction) at Concordia University in the honours political science program, with a minor in human rights. I was also a member of the COOP program, where I completed three paid internships with the federal government. During my undergrad, I received several awards. I also reached the top 25 of the recruitment process for the Garnet Key Society of Concordia University in 2016.

Bio: I was born in Tirana, Albania, and moved to Canada at the age of six with my parents. We lived in London, Ontario for the first four years, and then moved to the borough of Lasalle in Montreal, where I still am today.

Hobbies: I love exploring in the broad sense of the word, but more particularly discovering nature, new foods, new people, new cultures, new art and new music. I have danced since I was young and continue to do so (ballroom, latin and hip-hop). Although I have never danced professionally, I find it a way to express myself and to live life. I also train as bodybuilder, and have competed in regional, provincial and national shows.


El Hadji, 4L El Hadji

Langues: Français, anglais, wolof

Parcours: je détiens un Master's de Science Po Bordeaux. J’ai également effectué mes classes préparatoires au Lycée Pothier, en France.

Bio: Originaire du Sénégal, j'ai eu l'occasion de travailler et d’étudier dans 21 pays jusqu'à présent. Je pense que nulle autre faculté de droit puisse me fournir l’éducation juridique que je recherche: une formation véritablement bilingue et bijuridique, une formation qui peut vous mener à une carrière juridique dans presque toutes les juridictions du monde.


Scott, 2L Scott

Spoken languages: English, French

Academic background: Prior to law school, I obtained a Bachelor of Engineering from McGill University and have since developed combined expertise in Civil Engineering and entrepreneurship. I aim to contribute to public quality of life and infrastructure innovation through the intersection of engineering and law.

Bio: I was born and raised in Montreal and enjoying travelling the world.

Hobbies: I am an avid cook and love exploring new recipes, restaurants and cuisines. I’ve been learning photography and like to paint watercolours, usually of scenes during my travels.


Laura H., 3LLaura H

Langues: Français, anglais

Parcours: J’ai obtenu un BA (Honours) en développement international de McGill avec des mineures en relations internationales et en études est-asiatiques. J'ai ensuite effectué un Masters en sciences politiques, concentration en relations internationales, à l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne; grâce au format de ce masters, j'ai pu effectuer un stage auprès de du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés au Liban, à travailler dans un domaine qui me passionne.

Bio: Originaire de France, j'ai grandi à Madagascar et Djibouti. Je suis venue à Montréal pour mon BA, et ai décidé d'y rester depuis!

Ces dernières années à la Faculté, j'ai adoré exploré différents domaines juridiques et intérêts au travers de mes cours et d'activités extra-scolaires. Ainsi, je suis bénévole à la Clinique d'Information Juridique à McGill et au CRARR; ce sont de supers expériences qui me permettent d'appliquer mes connaissances tout en aider la communauté.

Si vous avez des questions sur le programme BCL/JD, ou si vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’expérience d'un.e étudiant.e international.e à la Faculté, n’hésitez pas à me contacter!

Back to top