PhD Job Candidate Profiles can be found here

Welcome to Fernando Saltiel! 

Dr. Fernando Saltiel will be joining the Department of Economics as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2020. He earned his BA in Economics, a Master of Public Policy (MPP), and a PhD in Economics from the University of Maryland at College Park. He previously held a Postdoctoral Associate position in Economics at Duke University.

Dr. Saltiel’s research interests lie at the intersection of labor, education and development economics. Within these fields, he analyzes how cognitive and non-cognitive skills affect educational attainment and labor market outcomes in developed and developing countries, exploring the importance of firms in determining the wage structure, and understanding the impact of government policies and unexpected shocks on labor market outcomes.

Dr. Saltiel will make a tremendous addition to the Department!

Opinion: Pay out emergency benefits or subsidize wages?

Francesco Amodio's article "Opinion: Pay out emergency benefits or subsidize wages?", in the Montreal Gazette, published March 30, 2020, speaks to the COVID-19 impact on the economy and the unprecedented economic measures that are underway.

Silver for McGill's team at the 2019 Bank of Canada's Governor Challenge

The team from McGill Economics finished in the first runner-up spot in 2019 Bank of Canada’s fifth annual Governor’s Challenge that took place on Saturday, February 8, 2020. This year’s team consisted of Frédéric Aubé, Henrique Mecabô, Zacharie Quiviger, Nikoline Svendsen, Léo Tronchon, with the support of Inbar Amit, and was coached by Professors Markus Poschke and Francisco Alvarez-Cuadrado. Congratulations to all concerned!

The Governor’s Challenge is a competition where university students simulate the monetary policy decision-making process at the Bank of Canada by playing the role of advisors to the Governing Council. The McGill team was victorious in the first two national competitions in 2016 and 2017.

Markus Poschke received the 2018 best paper award, AEJ: Macroeconomics 

In “The Firm Size Distribution across Countries and Skill-Biased Change in Entrepreneurial Technology,” author Markus Poschke argues that the size of companies in a country is closely related to its level of entrepreneurial development. Previous research believed that poorer countries had smaller firms because of economic distortions. To test his hypothesis, Poschke built a frictionless general equilibrium model of occupational choice with technical progress that favors better entrepreneurs. His model could account for the growth in size and dispersion of US firms and explained half the variation in mean and dispersion of firm size across countries.(AEJ: Macroeconomics, Vol. 10, No. 3, July 2018)

Jean-Marie Dufour elected Fellow of the International Association for Applied Econometrics

Jean-Marie Dufour was elected a Fellow of the International Association in 2018 and joins a select leading group of researchers in the areas of Theoretical and Applied Econometrics. The Fellowship position is reserved for economists who have made significant contributions in Econometrics.

For more information on the International Association for Applied Econometrics, please see here.

Markus Poschke winner of the 2018 Bank of Canada Governor’s Award

Professor Markus Poschke was selected as the recipient of this year’s Bank of Canada Governor’s Award.As their press release states,"Professor Poschke is an increasingly prominent member of the Canadian economics community. His research, which focuses on inequality and economic growth, has been published in some of the top journals in macroeconomics."

The curious relationship between economic conditions and mortality

Professor Erin Strumpf was recently interviewed on NPR’s Morning Edition by Hidden Brain host Shankar Vedantam.

They discussed her 2017 study showing that increases in unemployment during the Great Recession led to declines in mortality, particularly due to cardiovascular disease and motor vehicle accidents.

Jean-Marie Dufour a Canadian fellow

Jean-Marie Dufour has been named a Fellow of the Canadian Economics Association. As the citation says, the title “is conferred to recognize the achievements and contribution to the discipline of the most prominent economists who have spent a significant portion of their career in Canada.” 

With Professor Dufour’s inclusion, there are now 18 such Fellows. McGill has two: Prof. Russell Davidson and Prof. Dufour. For more information, see here.

Francisco Ruge-Murcia recipient of the 2017 Bank of Canada Fellowship Award

Professor Francisco Ruge-Murcia has won the prestigious Bank of Canada Fellowship Award. As the Bank’s press release says: "The Fellowship Award provides financial support to leading academics who are widely recognized for their expertise and excellence in areas important to the Bank’s core functions, and whose research contributes to the development of knowledge and research capabilities in those areas. The Fellowship Award provides annual funding of up to $90,000 for a term of up to five years, and recipients are professors in tenure or tenure-track positions at Canadian universities.

Bank of Canada Governor Stephen S. Poloz is quoted in the press release: “I am pleased to recognize, through this year’s Fellowship Award, Professor Ruge-Murcia’s remarkable capacity for bringing state-of-the-art research methods to bear on topics of direct interest to the Bank. His record of academic excellence is remarkable, and I look forward to his continued high-quality and innovative work in the years ahead.”

Professor Ruge-Murcia is the second member of the Department to win this award. Professor Jean-Marie Dufour was a Bank Fellow from 2007-11 and then again from 2012-16.

More information is available here.

Bank of Canada announces winners of the 2017 annual Governor’s Challenge: McGill Economics – Again!

A team from McGill Economics has won the Bank of Canada’s Governor’s Competition for the second year in a row. This year’s winning team consists of Eric Blachut, Jules Boudreau, Baptiste Cumin, Kurt Vogt Gwerder, and Ludovic van den Bergen. As was the case last year, the team’s academic advisers were Professors Francisco Ruge-Murcia and Christopher Ragan. Congratulations to all concerned! It’s a real tribute to McGill’s expertise in monetary policy. The award is only two years old so McGill is its only winner so far.

Link to the Bank’s announcement here.  See also the McGill Reporter’s story on the win here.

The Governor and the winning team, LtoR, Front row:  Ludovic van den Bergen, Stephen Poloz (Governor of the Bank of Canada), Kurt Vogt Gwerder. Second row: Jules Boudreau, Prof. Francisco Ruge-Murcia, Eric Blachut. Back row: Prof. Christopher Ragan, Baptiste Cumin.

Back to top