Faculty and Staff Awards

Couldn't-have-made-it-without-you Award

The Faculty of Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences celebrates the outstanding contributions of its administrative support staff and recognizes their achievements with the Faculty’s Couldn't-have-made-it-without-you Award.

As of 2023, a monetary prize is awarded to one regular clinical staff member and one regular administrative staff member.

Congratulations to the 2023 winners! 

Josie Marsala, Clinic Manager

Nila Aranjuez, Program Administrator 

Past winners


  • Daniela Botoca, Administrative Student Affairs Coordinator - clerical (C) category
  • Lorna Daley, Infection Control Technician - technical (T) category
  • Chantal Desjardins, Program Officer - management (M) category


  • Brendan Leslie Kelly, Shopkeeper - clerical (C) category
  • Maxine Daley, Infection Control Technician - technical (T) category
  • Linda Harrison, Simulation Lab Administrator - management (M) category


  • Marilyn Sylvester, Head Storekeeper – clerical (C) category
  • Raffaele Notarmaso, Infection Control Technician – technical (T) category
  • Nancy Cheong, Program Administrator – management (M) category

2019: Marlene Balena, Anne-Marie Plante
2018: Iren Urazbaeva, Michelle Dion
2017: Nicole Brunelle
2016: Rocchina Testa
2015: Celine Ash, Nikoo Taghavi
2014: Isabelle Chevrier, Marie-Claude Loignon
2013: Romantha Descartes


Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Leadership Award

As part of the Faculty of Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences strategic plan, the Dean’s Office has established the EDI Leadership Award to recognize EDI initiatives within the Faculty and in its affiliated hospitals. 

Eligibility criteria:

  • individuals who have demonstrated outstanding EDI leadership through activities at the Faculty and the affiliated hospitals during the preceding academic year (September 1 – August 31);
  • individuals who have not received the EDI Leadership Award in the previous five (5) years.

A maximum of two (2) faculty or staff members will be selected as the recipients by the members of the Faculty Executive Committee with voting rights, during the fall Faculty Executive Committee meeting. Each recipient will receive a monetary award of $500. If the Executive Committee cannot identify suitable awardees in a given year, the award will not be handed out.

2023 recipients

Karen Toroyan, Human Resources Administrator
Crystal Noronha, Manager, Student Affairs 


The Dr. Howard S. Katz Excellence in Teaching Award

This award recognizes superior teaching, pedagogical innovation and leadership at the undergraduate level of dental education. The following criteria will contribute to the evaluation: excellent student evaluations, evidence of pedagogical innovation, and recognition of leadership in dental education.

PDF icon Katz Teaching Award Nomination Terms of Reference

The full nomination package should be submitted by March 1st of each year to the Dean’s office at Deanadm.dentistry [at] mcgill.ca.

Past winners:

2023: Dr. Julia Cohen-Lévy
2022: Dr. Yu Kwong Li
2021: Dr. Christophe Bedos
2020: Dr. Frances Power
2019: Dr. Firoozeh Samim
2018: Dr. François Seng
2017: Dr. Maryam Tabrizian
2016: Dr. Shahrokh Esfandiari
2015: Dr. John Drummond

Back to top