Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates

Check out general updates on the coronavirus (COVID-19) situation from

More from News page


The Future of Hydrogen as an Energy Source?

One of most active research areas nowadays is the use of solar energy to produce hydrogen by so-called “water-splitting” reactions. Dr. Butler has co-authored with colleagues from the U.K. and Pakistan a comprehensive review on this topic entitled “Recent Developments and Perspectives in CdS-based Photocatalysts for Water Splitting”.

Email address:
Published: 6 Oct 2020

A fluorescent probe for all seasons; bright and sensitive

Researchers at McGill designed and synthesized the brightest fluorescent nucleobase analog (FBA) reported to date.

Email address:
Published: 31 Aug 2020

A more sustainable way to make DNA-based medications

Scientists at McGill University have developed a solvent-free method for making oligonucleotides, short strands of DNA of growing significance in research and the pharmaceutical industry.

Email address:
Published: 24 Aug 2020

Prof. Tomislav Friščić joins 30 other academics world wide to send a strong message about diversity, equity and inclusion

A team of ca. 30 diverse scientists from all around the world, and from all walks of life, have come together to compose the article A diverse view of science to catalyst change, highlighting and promoting the importance and benefits of equity, diversity and inclusion in science.

Published: 17 Aug 2020

Congratulation to Prof. Hanadi Sleiman on securing prestigious COTTRELL SEED award

Dr. Hanadi F. Sleiman has been selected as a recipient of the COTTRELL SEED (Singular Exceptional Endeavors of Discovery). This honor carries with it an award of $50,000 to support the very first instances of highly creative projects. The Cottrell SEED Award, part of the competitive Cottrell Plus Awards of the Research Corporation (USA), recognizes outstanding teacher-scholars who engage in innovative activities to enhance their teaching or research programs.

Email address:
Published: 14 Aug 2020

Congratulations to Prof. Auclair, Sleiman, McKeague and Friscic for being awarded prestigious chairs

The department of chemistry is proud to announce four of our professors are bringing home prestigious awards. Prof. Karine Auclair received a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Antimicrobials and Green Enzymes in the CIHR stream. Prof. Hanadi Sleiman saw her Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in DNA Nanoscience (NSERC) renewed. Prof Maureen McKeague received a Tier 2 Canada Canada Research Chair in Genomic Chemistry (CIHR). Prof. Tomislav Friscic was renewed his William Dawson Chair.

Published: 13 Jul 2020

Innovative simulations and analysis accelerate search for COVID-19 treatment

McGill University researchers are using cutting-edge computer simulations and analytical techniques to identify and validate promising compounds in the search for a treatment for COVID-19.

Nicolas Moitessier, a professor in the Department of Chemistry, is using computer simulation software that he has developed over the past 15 years to predict the properties of molecules that have yet to be made.

Email address:
Published: 23 Jun 2020

McGill-made instrument reveals previously unseen quantum mechanical behaviour

In a step forward for the field of quantum mechanics, McGill University researchers have achieved a breakthrough in sensitive measurements of the wave-like properties of electrons.

Email address:
Published: 22 Jun 2020

CHEM 267 Trailer

Interested in what’s happening in the Chemistry Department for Fall 2020? Check out this trailer for CHEM 267, which gives a hint of things to come!


Published: 19 Jun 2020

Dept. of Chemistry statement on racism, equity and inclusivity

As we reflect on issues of racism in science and society, #ShutDownAcademia, #ShutDownSTEM, and #Strike4BlackLives, I would like to emphasize that the McGill Chemistry Department remains committed to the high principles of equality and inclusivity. We are proud of our incredibly diverse population of students, staff, and faculty who came to McGill from 6 continents and over 30 different countries.

Email address:
Published: 11 Jun 2020

Arthur Saul Perlin (1924-2020)

It is with great sadness that the Department of Chemistry announces the passing of Professor Emeritus Arthur Saul Perlin on Wednesday, May 6, 2020, just a few days short of his 97th birthday. Professor Perlin was born in Sydney, Nova Scotia and spent all of his early years in the Maritimes, many of them working on the family farm, The Sanitary Dairy. He eventually came to McGill to study Chemistry and Music, where he obtained his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees.

Published: 10 May 2020

Congratulations Jeremy Dawkins who won 1st Prize at the 3 Minutes to Change the World

On February 5, at Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, the Association Québécoise de la Production d’Énergie renouvelable (AQPER) held the 3 Minutes to Change the World student competition during its 2020 symposium. Jeremy Dawkins from the Mauzeroll group won the 1st prize money with his presentation on Li-Ion Batteries. Congratulations Jeremy!

Published: 25 Feb 2020

The Passing of Professor Joan Power

Joan F. Power (1958-2019)

Associate Professor of Chemistry, McGill University. Joan was the first woman faculty member to serve in the Department of Chemistry.

Beloved daughter of Bernard Power and the late Pauline M. Power (Coty), sister of Michael Power (Ruth) of White Horse, Yukon, Christine of Ottawa, and Mark (Mariette) of Blainville, Quebec.

Published: 18 Sep 2019

Post-doctoral fellow Mingxin Liu wins prestigious 2019 IUPAC-Zhejiang NHU International Award for Advancements in Green Chemistry

The IUPAC-Zhejiang NHU International Award for Advancements in Green Chemistry is a collaborative award established to encourage young and experienced chemists, and to emphasize the importance of advancements in Green Chemistry and the value of sciences to human progress. Mingxin is one of the 3 awardees in the junior category

Published: 11 Jun 2019

The Canadian Society for Chemistry and Chemical Institute of Canada are highlighting our department for excellence

This year, the department was recognized by 4 prizes and awards from the Canadian Society for Chemistry and Chemical Institute of Canada to highlight the excellent of our researchers. Congratulation to profs. Lumb, Ariya, Barrett and Friscic for your remarkable successes:

1) JP Lumb – Keith Fagnou Award in organic chemistry (link:

Published: 30 Apr 2019


Back to top