On June 11, Professor David Theodore, member of the Research Group on Democracy, Space and Technology has been a appointed as next director of the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture.


Classified as: RGDST
Published on: 14 Jun 2021

Today, Élisabeth Brière, Member of Parliament for Sherbrooke and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages announced funding results from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation’s (CFI) Innovation Fund (IF) for universities in Quebec.

Classified as: Canada Foundation for Innovation, CFI, Innovation Fund, BARN, michael jemtrud, Kiel Moe, Salmaan Craig, Morgan Arboretum, Macdonald Campus, Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture, Sustainability
Published on: 9 Mar 2021

Atelier TAG (Manon Asselin [B.Arch. 1992, M.Arch. 2001] and  Katsuhiro Yamazaki [B.Arch. 1996], principals) in consortium with Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes inc. have won a 2020 Governor's General Medal in Architecture for the Gilles-Vigneault Performance Hall in St.

Published on: 4 May 2020

[From the RAIC website, 30 January 2020:]

The RAIC [Royal Architectural Institute of Canada] is honoured to award the Gold Medal—the highest distinction the Institute can bestow in recognition of a significant and lasting contribution to Canadian architecture—to visionary architect Blanche Lemco van Ginkel [B.Arch. '45, D.Sc. honoris causa '14].

Published on: 31 Mar 2020

A team of five undergraduate (U3) Architecture students from McGill has won top prize in the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) 25th Interuniversity Charrette. Olivier Therrien, Nathalie Marj, Nour Achrafie, Diana Nigmatullina, and Alice Lemay were judged first place in a field of almost 40 submissions from schools of architecture across Canada. This year’s theme was The City Around the Corner.

Published on: 26 Nov 2019

[ from the Concordia News webpage: ]

As Concordia’s School of Irish Studies celebrates its landmark 10th anniversary, the Irish government is recognizing the school’s two co-founders.

Published on: 21 Nov 2019

Julia Gersovitz and Andrew King have each been appointed as Professor of Practice at the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture at McGill University. The Provost, Christopher Manfredi, confirmed both appointments as of September 1, 2019.

Published on: 1 Nov 2019

Prof. Vikram Bhatt is one of nine McGill researchers and scholars out of a total of 93 new Fellows inducted into the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). Established in 1883, the RSC consists of over 2,000 Fellows who have been selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences, arts and humanities. The 2019 Fellows and Members will be welcomed into the RSC this November, in Ottawa, during the RSC’s Celebration of Excellence and Engagement.

Published on: 11 Sep 2019

Desiree Valadares (M.Arch. 2015), a post-professional graduate of the School, has won the J.B.C. Watkins Award: Architecture, offered by the Canada Council to a Canadian architectural student wishing to pursue postgraduate studies outside Canada. Valadares is landscape architect with degrees from the University of Guelph (MLA) and McGill University (M.Arch.). She is a Ph.D. candidate in the Architectural History program at UC Berkeley's College of Environmental Design.

Published on: 28 Aug 2019

Distinguished McGill alumni have been named to the College of Fellows of the RAIC (Royal Architectural Institute of Canada). They will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation ceremony on October 29 at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto during the annual RAIC Festival of Architecture which takes place October 26 to 30.  Alumni named to the College include:  Michel Broz (B.Arch.

Published on: 2 Jul 2019

M.Arch. (professional) student Alexandre Rossignol is the 2019 recipient of the RAIC (Royal Architectural Institute of Canada) Foundation’s CaGBC Scholarship.

Published on: 2 Jul 2019

The Board of Governors of McGill University has approved the promotion of Prof. Ipek Türeli to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure, effective June 1, 2019. Prof. Türeli was initially appointed as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the School of Architecture on 1 January 2012.

Published on: 11 Jun 2019

The Board of Governors of McGill University has approved the promotion of Prof. David Theodore to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure, effective June 1, 2019. Prof. Theodore was initially appointed as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the School of Architecture on 1 August 2014.

Published on: 11 Jun 2019

The churches of Emeritus Professor Radoslav Zuk are the subject of an exhibition in Vienna from May 21 to 25 -- “New Interpretation of a Thousand Year Old Tradition: Ukrainian Churches in Canada, USA and Ukraine” – at the Institut für Kunstgeschichte, Bauforschung und Denkmalpflege (Institute of History of Art, Building Archaeology and Restoration) at TU Wien (Vienna University of Technology). Please see the attached exhibition and program posters.

Published on: 17 May 2019

Ph.D. student Cigdem Talu has been awarded a Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Doctoral Scholarship (Canada Graduate Scholarships - Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council) for “The Flâneuse and the Metropolis: Urban Atmospheres in Late-Victorian London” (advisor: Prof. Martin Bressani) for three years at $35,000 per year. Ph.D. student Laura O’Brien has been awarded a SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship for “Vice, Virtue and (In)Visibility: Single Women and Benevolent Institutions in Montreal, 1887 – 1905” (advisor: Prof. Annmarie Adams) for two years at $20,000 per year.

Published on: 9 May 2019


Back to top