School of Architecture

A Montreal multi-disciplinary firm that experiments with materials and building methods is the recipient of the 2015 Emerging Architectural Practice Award given by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC). Founded in 2003, KANVA is a 10-person collective led by Tudor Radulescu, MRAIC (B.Sc.Arch. 1998, M.Arch. 2001), and Rami Bebawi, MRAIC (B.Sc.Arch. 1999, M.Arch. 2001).

Published on: 5 Mar 2015

The Board of Governors of McGill University has approved the promotion of Prof. Martin Bressani to the rank of Full Professor, effective March 1, 2015. The School warmly congratulates Prof. Bressani on this achievement.

Published on: 5 Mar 2015

Last week (January 26 to 30, 2015), the Honourable Frank Fagan, Lieutenant-Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, presented the 2014 Lieutenant Governor’s Awards in Architecture to architects Robert Mellin, Peter C. Blackie and Ron Fougere of Fougere Menchenton Architecture. This is the inaugural presentation of what will be a triennial event, celebrating outstanding contribution to the field of architecture and the built environment of Newfoundland and Labrador, and to recognize the important role architects and architecture have in building communities across the province.

Published on: 4 Feb 2015

Montreal-based Nicki Reckziegel (M.Arch. 2014) is the winner of the Canada Council’s 2014 Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners.  With this award, she will travel to “institutions of refuge” (crisis centres, safe houses, hospitals) in 18 locations across Central and East Africa. She will also intern with MASS Design Group, a non-profit organization that has designed health-care facilities in developing countries around the world.

Published on: 30 Jan 2015

Robert Mellin, Associate Professor at the School, and the winner of numerous awards, notably for his contributions to preserving Newfoundland’s architectural heritage and for his publications that have made modern architecture more accessible to a wider audience, was named a Member of the Order of Canada on December 26, 2014.

Published on: 5 Jan 2015

Canadian Architect has announced the winners of the 2014 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage.

Published on: 17 Dec 2014

From the Nov. 27, 2014, news announcement of the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA), University of British Columbia (UBC):

Published on: 28 Nov 2014

From the Nov. 26, 2014, press release of the Bureau de Design, Ville de Montréal:

Published on: 27 Nov 2014

The Association for Preservation Technology International (APT) presented Adjunct Professor Julia Gersovitz (B.Arch. 1975) on October 28, 2014, at the annual conference of the APT held in Quebec City, with their highest honour, the Harley J. McKee Award. Gersovitz is one of the founding partners of the architectural firm of Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet & Associés Architectes, with offices in Montreal and Toronto.

Published on: 17 Nov 2014

Prof. Avi Friedman was among three distinguished Canadians – all architects – who were recognized by Sustainable Buildings Canada (SBC) for their outstanding contributions to creating a more sustainable built environment. The awards were handed out on October 2nd at the Green Building Festival held at Daniels Spectrum in the revitalized Regent Park community in downtown Toronto. The honourees received attractive 100% post-consumer recycled glass plaques and celebrated at a wine and cheese reception attended by two hundred industry peers.

Published on: 11 Nov 2014

Five athletes, including Architecture alumnus Matthieu Quiviger, were inducted into to the McGill University Sports Hall of Fame on Thursday, October 16, 2014. The induction ceremony was held at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel and was one of the opening events of  Homecoming Week celebrations.

Published on: 22 Oct 2014

An exhibition of Emeritus Professor Radoslav Zuk’s design work, entitled “Place, People, Time and Architecture,” was held at the Lviv Polytechnic National University, from September 29 to October 10, 2014, under the auspices of its Institute of Architecture.  The accompanying photo was taken at the formal opening of the exhibition; from left to right: Oleksandr Yarema  (Vice-president of the National Union of Architects of Ukraine), Prof. Bohdan Tscherkes (Director of the Institute of Architecture), Prof.

Published on: 21 Oct 2014

Atelier TAG in consortium with Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes has won the Salle de spectacle de Saint-Jérôme competition.  Manon Asselin (B.Arch. 1992, M.Arch. 2001) is co-founder, with her partner Katsuhiro Yamazaki (B.Arch. 1996), of Atelier TAG. They were Gerald Sheff Visiting Professors in Architecture at the School during the Fall 2012 term.

Published on: 16 Sep 2014

Amale Andraos (BArch 1996) has been named dean of Columbia’s Graduate School of Architecture Planning and Preservation (GSAPP). Principal (with Dan Wood) of New York-based architecture firm WORKac, Andraos is currently on faculty at GSAPP, and she has also taught at Princeton, Harvard, the University of Pennsylvania, and the American University in Beirut.

Published on: 13 Aug 2014

Ph.D. students Heather Braiden and Ayca Koseoglu have received TD Bank Group-CCA Collection Research Grants for 2014. These grants are offered to doctoral students in architecture, in humanities and in social sciences in Canadian universities to facilitate access to the CCA Collection during residencies of one to three months at the Study Centre in the Summer of 2014.

Published on: 6 Jun 2014