McGill Alert / Alerte de McGill

Updated: Thu, 07/18/2024 - 18:12

Gradual reopening continues on downtown campus. See Campus Public Safety website for details.

La réouverture graduelle du campus du centre-ville se poursuit. Complément d'information : Direction de la protection et de la prévention.

Prof. Martin Bressani, Director of the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture, has been appointed to the Sir William C. Macdonald Chair in Architecture for a seven-year term.  The Chair was established on May 23, 1896 with the purpose of establishing a chair of professorship for architecture.  The appointment was announced by Prof. Christopher Manfredi, Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), on October 16, 2017, and is retroactive to September 1, 2017.  Prof.

Published on: 3 Nov 2017

rzlbd’s 100 has received a commendation in the hand-drawn category at the inaugural Architecture Drawing Prize curated by Make Architects, Sir John Soane's Museum, and the World Architecture Festival.  It will be displayed in November at the 2017 World Architecture Festival in Berlin, and then the winning and shortlisted entries will be displayed at Sir John Soane’s Museum in London from February 21 to April 14, 2018.

Published on: 2 Nov 2017

rzlbd’s Opposite House has been chosen by the American Architecture Prize (AAP) jury as one of the winners of The International American Architecture Prize in 2017.  rzlbd is a boutique architectural practice based in Toronto, founded by Reza Aliabadi (M.Arch.

Published on: 10 Oct 2017

PhD student Dustin Valen has been named the FRQSC (Fonds de Recherche du Québec - Société et Culture) Étudiant-chercheur étoile in Fonds Société et culture for September 2017. Please see this FRQSC webpage for more information on his reasearch.

Published on: 21 Sep 2017

From the Hydro-Québec press release (August 29, 2017):

McGill University and Concordia University students are teaming up as the sole Canadian entry in the prestigious international housing design competition

Published on: 9 Sep 2017

From the Aga Khan Foundation Canada website:

Published on: 13 Aug 2017

PhD student Tanya Southcott has won one of three 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize Scholarships.  Southcott won a $5,000 scholarship for writing an illustrated 1,000-word essay on the following topic: Please describe the moment—the circumstances, the nature of the event—when you decided to become an architect, or when you knew that your decision to become an architect was the right one.

From the RAIC website:

Published on: 13 Aug 2017

The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) has announced the 2017 recipients of the SAH Publication Awards and SAH Award for Film and Video. PhD student Dustin Valen has won the Founders’ JSAH Article Award for “On the Horticultural Origins of Victorian Glasshouse Culture,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 75, no. 4 (December 2016): 403–423.

Published on: 13 Jun 2017

M.Arch. student Luis Alvarez has won the Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) Scholarship for Sustainable Design and Research.

Published on: 7 Jun 2017

Adjunct Professor Andrew King has been elected to the College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and will be inducted into the College at the RAIC/OAA Festival in Ottawa on May 24-27, 2017.

Published on: 18 May 2017

Numerous McGill alumni have been elected to the College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and will be inducted into the College at the RAIC/OAA Festival in Ottawa on May 24-27, 2017. Giovanni Diodati (BSc[Arch] 1988, BArch 1990) is a Senior Associate at EVOQ and a heritage materials conservation specialist.

Published on: 18 May 2017

Prof. Robert Mellin has been elected President of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. The RCA is an honorary organization of established professional artists and designers from all regions of Canada. Members practice in more than thirty visual arts disciplines including but not limited to painting, print-making, architecture, sculpture, design, photography, ceramics, film, video, and digital art.

Published on: 18 May 2017

[From the McGill Reporter, “McGill gets 15 CRCs, infrastructure funding,” by Meaghan Thurston]

"On Thursday, May 4, the Honorable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, announced $126 million in funding for 142 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at universities across Canada. Fifteen CRCs valued at $12 million went to McGill faculty."

Published on: 11 May 2017

Prof. Annmarie Adams and John Bentley Mays are the recipients of the 2017 President’s Medal for Media in Architecture given by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC.)  From the RAIC press release (see attachment):

This award recognizes storytelling about buildings and cities that promotes understanding of architecture and the role of architects in the daily lives of Canadians.

Published on: 1 May 2017


Back to top