More from Faculty News


Reference Text on Concussions by SPOT's Dr. Gagnon

Dr. Isabelle Gagnon has returned from sabbatical, and has published a new authority textbook on concussions: "Sports Concussions: A complete guide to recovery and management.”



Published: 5 Feb 2018

CIHR Canada 150 Initiatives at SPOT

CIHR recently put out a list 150 featured Canadian Researchers to celebrate Canada 150, and our own Dr. Annette Majnemer was featured for her work with CHILD-BRIGHT, and Dr. Nancy Mayo was featured for her Heel2Toe project.

Published: 5 Feb 2018

PT Students Win for Research Projects

At the 2017 edition of the Faculty of Medicine Student Research Day, McGill SPOT Physiotherapy Students were well represented, winning three Sir Edward W. Beatty Memorial Final Report Awards. Ali Alias was awarded the Best Winter 2017 Research Report, Rachel Medvedev was awarded 2nd Place (Schools Category), Top Summer 2017 Research Report, and Yoon Seo Lee, was awarded 3rd Place (Schools Category), Top Summer 2017 Research Project.

Published: 5 Feb 2018

SSHRC Partnership Engage Grant

Dr. Stefanie Blain-Moraes has been awarded a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Partnership Engage Grant for her project titled “Using participatory design to leverage biomusic technology to integrate neurodiverse populations into the workplace.”

Published: 5 Feb 2018

CIHR New Investigator Grant

Dr. Marie Brossard-Racine and her team have been awarded a CIHR New Investigator Grant in Maternal Reproductive, Child and Youth Health for their project titled “One year of brain maturation following a preterm birth.”

Published: 5 Feb 2018

Dr. Bernadette Nedelec elected to AOTF

Dr. Bernadette Nedelec has been elected to the prestigious American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF) Academy of Research.

Recognized for her exemplary and distinguished contributions toward the science of OT, she now joins an elite group of scientists and scholars.

Published: 5 Feb 2018

3rd Place Win for PT Students!

A group of Professional Masters's PT students supervised by Dr. Shawn Robbins was recently awarded 3rd place in the Canadian Physiotherapy Association 2017 Ann Collins Whitmore Student Research Competition. Melissa Cloutier-Gendron, Susan Gu, Shirley Ho, and Anthony Teoli co-authored a paper with Dr.

Published: 5 Feb 2018

McGill SPOT OT Students Sweep OEQ Congress Poster Awards

Congratulations to SPOT OT Masters students: 4 groups of students won the best poster prizes in the 4 different categories at the Annual Symposium of the College of Occupational Therapists of Quebec (OEQ)!

Published: 17 Nov 2017

2017 Alumni Award of Merit Awarded to Dr. Anne Carswell

Congratulations to Dr. Anne Carswell, recipient of the 2017 Medicine Alumni Global Award of Merit for the School of Physical & Occupational Therapy in recognition of her extraordinary contribution to the profession. In addition to her work as an educator, researcher and clinician, she is a co-author of the Canadian Occupational Performance Measure (COPM) and one of the founding directors of COPM Inc. More information can be found at:

Published: 17 Nov 2017

Dr. Shaun Cleaver Awarded 2017 Steinberg Global Health Postdoctoral Fellowship

Dr. Shaun Cleaver was awarded the 2017 Steinberg Global Health Postdoctoral Fellowship at the recent McGill Global Health Programs Award Night. The award’s purpose is to support the most promising scholars in global health and assist them in establishing a research base early in their careers. Shaun is a recent addition to SPOT, and as he states, “the Steinberg Award was a crucial factor to draw me to McGill.”

Published: 17 Nov 2017

Reappointment of Dr. Tania Janaudis-Ferreira!

Dr. Tania Janaudis-Ferreira has been reappointed to SPOT faculty as Assistant Professor in the PT program for a 3-year term. Congratulations from all of us at SPOT!

Published: 17 Nov 2017

Post-Doctoral Fellow Dr. Jonathan Lai Received CIHR Fellowship

Congratulations to Dr. Jonathan Lai on being one of the first cohort of CIHR Health System Impact Fellows! This program aims to impact policy and health systems through research. Dr. Lai has partnered with the Mariam Foundation in Montreal, and is a post-doc with Dr. Keiko Shikako Thomas and CHILD-BRIGHT.

Published: 17 Nov 2017

Sara Ahmed Awarded Dr. Joe Stratford Award for Study of Pain

Dr. Sarah Ahmed received the Dr. Joe Stratford Award for the Study of Pain at an Award dinner hosted by the McGill University Health Center, the MUHC Research Institute, and the MUHC Foundations. The award recognizes her team’s research in collaboration with the McGill RUIS centre of expertise in chronic pain, which aims to improve the quality of care delivered to individuals with chronic pain.

Published: 17 Nov 2017

CFI Grant Awarded to Sara Ahmed and Team

Dr. Sarah Ahmed and her team, including SPOT researchers Dr. Philippe Archambault, Dr. Anouk Lamontagne, and Dr.

Published: 17 Nov 2017

Dr. Nancy Mayo Named 2017 David Hawkins Lecturer in Health Sciences Research

Dr. Nancy Mayo was the 2017 David Hawkins Lecturer in Health Sciences Research. This lectureship was created jointly by the Medical Research Council of Canada and Memorial University of Newfoundland to honour contributions of Dr. Hawkins to health sciences research in the country. Dr.

Published: 17 Nov 2017


Back to top