All current B.Th. students will be considered in consultation with faculty members for a range of internal School of Religious Studies undergraduate bursaries and awards, including the following:

Awards and Bursaries Description

A.R. Gordon Awards

Established in 1998 by a bequest from Janette R. Gordon in memory of her father, Rev. Alexander Reid Gordon, who was a Professor of Hebrew and Old Testament Literature at McGill University from 1907–1930. These are awarded on the basis of academic merit, by the School of Religious Studies, to an undergraduate or graduate student affiliated with the United Theological College.

Greek Prize

Awarded for the highest standing in the Elementary New Testament Greek course; value $200.

Hebrew Prize

Awarded for the highest standing in the Elementary Biblical Hebrew course; value $200.

Houston Bursary

Established by a bequest from Thomas Houston. Awarded to students in the Faculty of Arts and the School of Religious Studies studying for the ministry of the Presbyterian Church in Canada, with preference given to candidates whose mother tongue is French. Value is approximately $500.

Mary Mysak Prize

The Mary Mysak Prize in Asian Religions was formally established in 2012 for graduating students of B.A. programs in Religious Studies with an emphasis on Asian Religions (Major, Honours, or Joint Honours). The Prize is awarded to the graduating student with the highest academic standing. The Prize is valued at approximately $1,000 annually, and will be awarded in perpetuity.

McGill Alumnae Prize

Awarded to a woman with the highest standing in the graduating B.Th. class; $200.

Msgr. Andrew Sinal Memorial Theology Entrance Scholarship

Awarded annually to one or more outstanding undergraduate students entering the B.Th. program.

W.M. Birks Awards

Awarded for the highest standing in graduating B.Th. and B.A. classes; value $200.