Quick Links

Paléontologie

Les pièces marquantes de la collection comprennent la plus ancienne faune terrestre connue du Carbonifère provenant de Joggins, en Nouvelle-Écosse ; la plus vaste collection de fossiles invertébrés ordoviciens des Basses-Terres du Saint-Laurent (environ 150 000 spécimens) ; et une remarquable collection de fossiles des schistes de Burgess réunie par T. H. Clarke en 1924 ainsi qu’environ 1 000 spécimens types et figurés. Le musée possède également tous les spécimens de plantes fossiles décrits par Dawson, notamment les plus anciennes plantes vasculaires du Dévonien de l’est du Canada. Les objets de la collection permanente exposés dans la galerie Dawson, autour d’un squelette de Gorgosaurus libratus, retracent l’histoire de la vie au Canada il y a des milliards d’années.




Fossiles invertébrés

Le musée conserve la plus vaste collection d’invertébrés ordoviciens des Basses-Terres du Saint-Laurent (à peu près 30 000 spécimens) ainsi que la collection de recherche de stromatoporoides de Colin Stearn (environ 2 000 lots de lames minces et d’échantillons originaux). Le musée abrite aussi une petite collection de fossiles des schistes de Burgess recueillis par T. H. Clark au cours d’une expédition en Colombie-Britannique en 1924.

Maclurites, un escargot de mer de l’Ordovicien (il y a environ 450 millions d’années)

Fossiles vertébrés

Parmi les pièces les plus importantes de la collection de vertébrés, on trouve les plus anciens fossiles vertébrés terrestres connus du Carbonifère, de Joggins, en Nouvelle-Écosse, des mammifères marins du Pléistocène de la mer Champlain et la collection R.L. Carroll de vertébrés primaires sous la forme de moulages en latex et de moulages solides.


Archaeopteris gaspiensis,

Plantes fossiles

Le musée détient toutes les espèces de plantes fossiles répertoriées par Dawson, parmi lesquelles les plus anciennes plantes vasculaires du Dévonien de l’est du Canada.


Archaeopteris gaspiensis, Dévonien supérieur, Gaspé, Québec

McGill Alert / Alerte de McGill

Updated: Fri, 07/12/2024 - 12:16

McGill Alert. The downtown campus will remain partially closed through the evening of Monday, July 15. See the Campus Safety site for details.

Alerte de McGill. Le campus du centre-ville restera partiellement fermé jusqu’au lundi 15 juillet, en soirée. Complément d’information : Direction de la protection et de la prévention

Palaeontology

General View of the Dawson Gallery
Dawson Gallery, photo by Alex Tran

Highlights of the vertebrate collection include the oldest known terrestrial fauna from the Carboniferous of Joggins, Nova Scotia, the largest collection of invertebrate Ordovician fossils from the Saint Lawrence Lowlands (about 150 000 specimens), and a noteworthy collection of Burgess Shale fossils collected by T.H. Clark in 1924 as well as about 1000 Type and Figured specimens. The Museum also holds all the Dawson type specimens of fossil plants, including the oldest vascular plants from the Devonian of eastern Canada. Permanent exhibits in the Dawson Gallery, surrounding a skeleton of Gorgosaurus libratus, take you through billions of years in the history of life in Canada.


Invertebrate Fossils

The museum holds the largest collection of Ordovician invertebrates from the St. Lawrence Lowlands (about 30 000 specimens) as well as the Colin Stearn research collection of stromatoporoids (approximately 2000 lots of thin sections and original samples). It also possesses a small collection of Burgess Shale fossils collected by T.H. Clark in British Columbia during a 1924 expedition.

Maclurites, a sea snail from the Ordovician (about 450 million years ago)

Maclurites, a sea snail from the Ordovician (about 450 million years ago)

Vertebrate Fossils

Significant holdings in the vertebrate collection include: the oldest known fossil terrestrial vertebrates from the Carboniferous of Joggins, Nova Scotia, Pleistocene marine mammals from the Champlain Sea and R.L. Carroll's collection of early vertebrates in the form of "peels" and casts.


Archaeopteris gaspiensis, Upper Devonian, Gaspé, Québec

Archaeopteris gaspiensis, Upper Devonian, Gaspé, Québec

 

Plant Fossils

Among the fossil plants, the museum holds all the Dawson types including the oldest vascular plants from the Devonian of eastern Canada.


 

Land Acknowledgement

McGill University is on land which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples, including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabeg nations. We acknowledge and thank the diverse Indigenous peoples whose presence marks this territory on which peoples of the world now gather.

The Redpath Museum's director EDI statement.

Back to top