In Memory of Dr. Harry Goldsmith (1928 - 2021)

Harry Leonard Goldsmith May 11, 1928 - March 10, 2021

Published: 26 Apr 2021

In Memory of Dr. Kresimir Krnjevic (1927-2021)

Krešimir – Krešo (later in life Kris and KK) Krnjević was born on September 7, 1927 in Zagreb, Croatia in the family of Dr Juraj Krnjević, then Secretary of the Croatian Peasant Party, and Nada Hiršl. The political situation in Yugoslavia very much influenced his early years and the next 20 years of peripatetic lifestyle. The family was forced into exile 1930 and, until establishment of Croatian Banovina in 1939, they lived in Switzerland where Kris completed junior high school in French.

Published: 20 Apr 2021

Physiology Undergraduate Awards & Information Session held online Apr. 9, 2021

The Department of Physiology held its first online Undergraduate Awards & Information Session on Friday, April 9, 2021.

The students completing PHGY 461 were presented with participation certificates and the following award recipients were announced:  

Published: 12 Apr 2021

Major boost to brain research with new $4M grant to help advance the field of neuroscience

Congratulations to Dr. Reza Sharif for being part of the Brain Canada grant led by Dr. Yves de Koninck: The Canadian Optogenetics and Vectorology Foundry. Reza and other team members from across the country form a consortium of research sites that aims to accelerate the development and dissemination of optogenetic and viral tools.

Published: 7 Apr 2021

Dr. Anmar Khadra editor of new book

Congratulations to Dr. Anmar Khadra on his role as editor of the new book Diabetes Systems Biology, published in December 2020 through IOP Publishing.

Published: 18 Mar 2021

Dr. Sharif Naeini awarded CFI grant

Congratulations to Dr. Reza Sharif Naeini, Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology, and his colleagues at McGill University, Drs. Ed Ruthazer, Stuart Trentholm, Myriam Srour and Rob Koenekoop, for their success as co-PIs on a grant entitled Neurodevelopmental basis of nervous system disorders (NeuroBasis) awarded by the Canadian Foundation for Innovation. This grant involved 5 additional neuroscientists and clinicians from the Université de Montréal: Drs.

Published: 11 Mar 2021

Physiology student receives inaugural Teaching Innovation Award

Congratulations to physiology student Mégane Pépin, one of six learners to receive the inaugural Teaching Innovation Award within the McGill Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Published: 15 Feb 2021

McGill CBD research collaboration helping develop new therapies for treating chronic pain

Important pain research from the Sharif Lab is helping develop cannabidiol (CBD) therapies to treat chronic pain.

Published: 10 Feb 2021

Dr. Reza Sharif selected as new Director of the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain

We are pleased to announce that our core faculty member Dr. Reza Sharif has been nominated as the new Director of the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain (AECRP). Dr. Sharif will succeed Dr. Jeffrey Mogil, whose second term will end on April 30, 2021

Published: 3 Feb 2021

Dr. Reza Sharif wins Canadian Pain Society Early Career Award

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Reza Sharif, winner of the 2021 Canadian Pain Society Early Career Award. The Early Career Award recognizes outstanding achievements in pain research and/or management by an individual at the early stage of his or her career. Dr.

Published: 27 Jan 2021

Dr. Claire Brown receives CZI grant to advance bioimaging

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Claire Brown, one of 22 recipients of the Chan-Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) imaging scientist grant.

Published: 3 Dec 2020

Dr. Masha Prager-Khoutorsky awarded Brain Canada grant

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Masha Prager-Khoutorsky, one of 20 Canada-wide recipients of the Brain Canada 2019 Future Leaders in Canadian Brain Research award.

Published: 13 Nov 2020

Science from the Sharif Lab leads to creation of pain ointment

Research performed in one of our physiology labs has led to a scientifically-backed product that directly helps humans.

Published: 10 Nov 2020

Dr. Leon Glass wins McGill Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Leon Glass, one of three winners of the 2020 McGill Medal for Exceptional Academic Achievement in recognition of his outstanding contributions to his discipline, to McGill, and to society at large.

Published: 6 Nov 2020

Sharif, Orlowski and Ferland labs publish collaborative study in PAIN

Congratulations to the Sharif, Orlowski and Ferland labs on their recent publication in PAIN, the Journal of the International Association for the Study of Pain. 

Published: 22 Oct 2020


Back to top