Undergraduate Programs

Departmental Awards & Prizes


Mark Nickerson Prize

Established in 1990 by the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in honour of the Professor Mark Nickerson, a renowned McGill Pharmacologist. Awarded to the student who has achieved excellence in the Undergraduate Pharmacology Program and has demonstrated the most promise, as defined by the Department, in the field of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in contemporary society.


The Melville Undergraduate Research Bursary in Pharmacology & Therapeutics

The Undergraduate Research Bursary established in 2018 will provide funding for a paid summer research internship to an undergraduate student from an underrepresented equity group.


Barbara Esplin Memorial Prize

Established in 2009 to honor Dr. Barbara Esplin (1925-2008), an associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics from 1968 to 1996. Since the initiation it has been awarded to an undergraduate student enrolled in the Pharmacology & Therapeutics undergraduate programs (Minor, Major or Honor). The recipient of the award is the student whose poster presentation at the annual PRD is deemed to be the best in the undergraduate student category.

In 2013, a second category to the Barbara Esplin Price was introduced to acknowledge the best oral presentation given at Pharmacology Undergraduate Research Expo (PURE). These 2 prizes are judged by an ad hoc advisory committee. This event, combined with the 2 prizes, encourage students' participation, stimulate student's interest for research and expose them to an environment similar to an international symposium.

Awarded at the Undergraduate Research Expo (PURE)

Back to top