Mathematical Programming Society Prizes


  • The George Dantzig Prize: The prize is awarded jointly by the MP Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). The prize is awarded for original research, which by its originality, breadth and depth, is having a major impact on the field of mathematical programming. The contribution(s) for which the award is made must be publicly available and may belong to any aspect of mathematical programming in its broadest sense. Strong preference will be given to candidates who have not reached their 50th birthday in the year of the award. 
  • The Fulkerson PrizeThe Fulkerson Prize for outstanding papers in the area of discrete mathematics is sponsored jointly by the Mathematical Programming Society and the American Mathematical Society. Beginning in 1979, up to three awards of $750 each will be presented at each (triennial) International Symposium on Mathematical Programming; they will be paid out of a memorial fund administered by the American Mathematical Society that was established by friends of the late Delbert Ray Fulkerson to encourage mathematical excellence in the fields of research exemplified by his work. Beginning in 1994, the amount of each award is $1,500. 
  • The Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize: The Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize for Excellence in Computational Mathematical Programming is awarded for a paper or a book meeting requirements specified at the MPS webpage.
  • A.W. Tucker Prize: Awarded for a doctoral thesis. The doctoral thesis must have been approved formally (with signatures) by the nom- inee's thesis committee between March 1 of the calendar year in which the previous International Symposium on Mathematical Programming was held, and March 1 of the calendar year of the upcoming symposium. The thesis may concern any aspect of mathematical programming.
  • The Lagrange Prize: The Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization is awarded jointly by MPS and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). The prize was established in 2002 and was awarded for the first time at the Eighteenth International Symposium on Mathematical Programming in 2003. To be eligible for the prize, the work must be either a paper or book consisting chiefly of original results, which has appeared in the six calendar years preceding the year in which the award is made. 

Follow us on

Back to top