More from Faculty News (English)


Andrea Bjorklund and Rosalie Jukier appointed as associate deans

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Professor Andrea K. Bjorklund has been appointed associate dean (graduate studies) for a three-year term, effective July 1, 2019, and Professor Rosalie Jukier has been appointed associate dean (academic) for a two-year term, effective September 1, 2019.

Published: 25 Apr 2019

Five McGill Law students and recent grads tapped to clerk at Supreme Court of Canada

The Faculty of Law is delighted to announce that five have been selected from among McGill Law students and recent graduates to serve as law clerks to justices of the Supreme Court of Canada in 2020-2021:

Published: 10 Apr 2019

Announcing the 2019 Baxter Family Competition Winners

The Faculty of Law and the Peter MacKell Chair in Federalism are delighted to announce the winners of the 2018-2019 Baxter Family Competition: First Prize: Jan Raeimon Nato (BCL/LLB candidate, McGill University, Montreal) – $5,000 “Duties of Federal Loyalty: Lessons to Learn, Conversations to be Had” Second Prize: Berihun Gebeye (SJD Candidate, Central European University, Budapest) – $3,000
Published: 2 Apr 2019

IASL and IFALPA announce new internship program

McGill University’s Institute of Air and Space Law (IASL) and the International Federation of Air Line Pilots’ Associations (IFALPA) are delighted to announce that they have partnered to offer a pre-professional internship to current students and recent graduates of the IASL.

Published: 28 Mar 2019

Professor Mark Walters appointed Dean of Queen’s University Faculty of Law

It is with mixed feelings of sadness and pride that the Faculty of Law announces that Professor Mark Walters will be leaving McGill University to take up the role of dean at Queen’s University’s Faculty of Law on July 1, 2019.

Published: 28 Mar 2019

Andrea Bjorklund appointed Vice-President of the American Society of International Law’s Executive Council

The Faculty of Law is pleased to share that Professor Andrea K. Bjorklund has been elected a vice-president of the governing Executive Council of the American Society of International Law (ASIL) at the organization’s 113th annual meeting in Washington D.C. on March 27.

Published: 27 Mar 2019

Journalist Deniz Yücel receives Litvack Award from Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism

On March 25, 2019, the Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism of McGill University was pleased to award German-Turkish journalist and producer Deniz Yücel the Robert S. Litvack Award, who accepted it on behalf of all threatened and silenced Turkish voices. The award was presented to Mr. Yücel by Gabriela Siegel and Sylvia Litvack, respectively grand-daughter and widow of Robert Litvack.

Published: 27 Mar 2019

Sustainability committee launches community consultation

The Faculty of Law’s Sustainability Committee is a new entity, created in response to student demand, building on impressive groundwork by members of a student-led committee. The committee fosters sustainability initiatives at the Faculty, and promotes the Faculty’s engagement in sustainability at McGill. We work closely with the McGill Office of Sustainability.

Published: 20 Mar 2019

International Internship Awards for BCL/LLB students - Deadline extended

The McGill International Experience Awards, supported by Joseph Schull (BA'82, MA'85) and Anna Yang (BCL'88, LLB'88), help students gain first hand international experience related to their field of study.

Current BCL/LLB students are invited to apply for the following internship awards by Monday, March 25, 2019, noon (EST).  (extended deadline)

Published: 13 Mar 2019

J. Mauricio Gaona wins the 2018 Principal’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media

The Faculty is pleased to announce that doctoral candidate and O’Brien Graduate Fellow J. Mauricio Gaona was awarded the 2018 Principal’s Prize for Public Engagement through Media in the Graduate Students, Research Associates and Post-Doctoral Fellows category.

Published: 28 Feb 2019

The Faculty of Law places 22nd worldwide in QS World University Rankings

McGill University’s Faculty of Law was ranked as the 22nd best law school worldwide in the 2019 World University Rankings by Subject, published by Quacquarelli Symonds (QS), slightly up from 23rd place in 2018. Since QS introduced the ranking in 2011, the Faculty of Law has consistently placed in the top 35 institutions globally. The QS ranking is based on academic reputation, employer reputation, H-index citations, and citations per paper.

Published: 27 Feb 2019

Payam Akhavan and Frédéric Mégret promoted Full Professors

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Professor Payam Akhavan and Professor Frédéric Mégret have been promoted to the rank of Full Professor, effective 1 March 2019.

Published: 25 Feb 2019

Call for papers - Eighth Annual Conference of the Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law

The Younger Comparativists Committee (YCC) of the American Society of Comparative Law (ASCL) is pleased to invite submissions for its Eighth Annual Conference, to be held on May 10-11, 2019, at McGill University Faculty of Law in Montreal, Quebec. The purpose of the conference is to highlight, develop, and promote the scholarship of younger scholars of Comparative Law.

Published: 22 Jan 2019

Call for papers: BLG Student Research Mini-Conference

Are you writing a supervised term paper or research essay for class this winter? Or did you write one in the fall or summer terms just past?

Get experience presenting your work and enjoy sharing your ideas with colleagues and professors by participating in the BLG Student Research Conference, hosted by the Paul-André Crépeau Centre for Private and Comparative Law on March 15, 2019, at McGill University’s Faculty of Law.

Published: 16 Jan 2019

Adelle Blackett and Armand de Mestral appointed to CETA rosters

The Faculty of Law is pleased to share that Professor Adelle Blackett and Professor Emeritus Armand de Mestral have been appointed to Canada’s rosters of experts for the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA). These rosters will be used to constitute expert panels that will examine various matters arising under CETA.

Published: 16 Jan 2019