Contributors to the Global Space Governance Study

With the aim to provide an international, interdisciplinary and geographically- and politically-neutral study on global space activities and global space governance, the Global Space Governance Study drew on the expertise and input of over one hundred legal, technical, governmental, and commercial space professionals from around the world. The collective intellectual power and professional experiences of these experts, academics and practitioners make them suitable candidates to meaningfully contribute to an ambitious and comprehensive study of this kind and are reflected in their biographies below.


Principal Investigator

Ram S. Jakhu



Ram S. Jakhu 

Joseph N. Pelton 


Desk Editors

Md. Tanveer Ahmad 

Kuan-Wei Chen 


Core Drafters and Reviewers

Md. Tanveer Ahmad

Ntorina Antoni

Natalia Archinard

Werner Balogh

Duncan Blake

Ulrike Bohlmann

Tare Brisibe

Allison Christians

Eric Dahlstrom

James Dator

Philippe De Man

Frank De Winne

George Dietrich

Karl Doetsch

Stephen Earle

Lorna-Jean Edmonds

Kim Ellis

David Finkleman

Donald Flournoy

Steven Freeland

Danielle Fultz

Francesco Gaspari

Bayar Goswami

Martin Griffin

Andrea Harrington

Niklas Hedman

Vicky Hipkin

Ram S. Jakhu

Bhupendra Jasani

Nandasiri Jasentuliayna

Timiebi Aganaba - Jeanty

Sanat Kaul

Icho Kealotswe

David Kendall

Aram Kerkonian

Ivan Kosenkov

Donna Lawler

Scott Madry

Peter Martinez

Elina Morozova

Sa'id Mosteshar

K.R. Sridhara Murthi

Peter Nesgos

Dmitry Payson

Walter Peeters

Joseph Pelton

Serge Plattard

Daniel Porras

Maria Pozza

Andy Quinn

Lucien Rapp

Jana Robinson

George Robinson

John Rummel

Juliana Scavuzzi dos Santos

Francis Schubert

Alex Seneta

Tommaso Sgobba

V Siddhartha

Michael K. Simpson

Jai Singh

Lionel Smith

Cassandra Steer

Olga Stelmakh

Ruth Stilwell

Charles Stotler

Jinyuan Su

Su-Yin Tan

Eytan Tepper

Jean-Jacques Tortora

Brian Weeden

Edythe Weeks

Chris Welch


Other contributors

P. J. Blount

Peter Garretsen

George D. Kyriakopoulos

Tyson Lange

Paul B. Larsen

Juqian Li

Shouping Li

Siqing Li

Gil Lotan

Alessandra Oliva

Deganit Paikowsky

Neta Palkovitz

Reuben Pessah

Daniel Sagath

Lisa Saloukvadze

Christian Schwarz

Clair Seid

Lauren Small- Pennefather

Julio Carbajal Smith



Yaw Nyampong

Cassandra Steer

Olga Stelmakh  

Jinyuan Su


Research Assistants

Kadriye Merve Bilgic

Sandy Belle Habchi

Maria Manoli

Bruno Savoie

Kalev Tamm

Branislav Turcina


Administrative Assistant

Maria D’Amico 



Professor Ram S. Jakhu

Dr. Ram Jakhu holds a tenured position of Associate Professor at the Institute of Air and Space Law, Faculty of Law, McGill University. He is also the Director of the Institute of Air and Space Law and of the Centre for Research in Air and Space Law of McGill University. He teaches and conducts research in international space law, law of space applications, law of space commercialization, space safety and security, national regulation of space activities, law of telecommunications, and public international law.

He has taught Space Law and Policy in several countries; made presentations to the United Nations Committee of Peaceful Uses of Outer Space; participated in the drafting of Space Law Curriculum for the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs; advised several countries in the preparation of national laws and policies, including National Space Law and Policy for South Africa and India; convened and participated numerous international interdisciplinary space law and policy-related conferences and workshops around the world; and currently heads a multi-million dollars research and outreach program for space law and policy.

Professor Jakhu is a Member of the Global Agenda Council on Space of the World Economic Forum; the Governance Group of the Space Security Index; and Fellow as well as the Chairman of the Legal and Regulatory Committee of the International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety. He is Managing Editor of the Space Regulatory Series, member of the Editorial Boards of Space and Evolution, Annals of Air & Space Law, Astropolitics, and German Journal of Air & Space Law. He has co-authored two books, over 80 articles and 20 research reports and edited 6 books.

He was member of the Advisor Group of Legal Experts on Optional Rules for Arbitration of Disputes Relating to Outer Space within the Permanent Court of Arbitration, and the Board of Directors of International Institute of Space Law for 14 years. In 2007, he received a "Distinguished Service Award" from the International Institute of Space Law for significant contribution to the development of space law.

Ram Jakhu holds Doctor of Civil Law (Dean's Honors List) and Master of Law (LL.M.) degrees from McGill University, Canada as well as LL.M., LL.B., and B.A. degrees from Panjab University, India.

Dr. Joseph Pelton

Dr. Joseph N. Pelton is the former Dean and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the International Space University with its main campus in Strasbourg, France. He is also the Director Emeritus of the Space and Advanced Communications Research Institute at George Washington University. He is currently on the Executive Board of the International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety and chair of its International Academic Committee. He is the award-winning author and editor of nearly 50 books and over 300 articles in the field of space, satellite communications systems, future technologies and urban planning. Dr. Pelton has also served as Director of the Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program at the University of Colorado-Boulder. He has also served in a number of executive capacities at Intelsat and the Comsat Corporation earlier in his career, including as Director of Strategic Policy and Director of Project SHARE at Intelsat. He is currently the principal of Pelton Consulting International based in Arlington, Virginia.

His principal project at this time is Chairing the Oversight Committee for the Satellite Gallery at the U.S. based National Electronics Museum and is to open in the late Spring of 2017. His latest books include: The New Gold Rush: The Riches of Space Beckon, Handbook of Cosmic Hazards and Planetary Defense, Handbook of Satellite Applications (2nd Edition), Space Mining and its Regulation, Small Satellites and their Regulation, and Launching into Commercial Space. His numerous books include Global Talk which was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and won the IAA Literature Award. In July 2013 he received in the United Kingdom British Interplanetary Society Award known as “The Arthur” in honor of Arthur C. Clarke. He also received the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement award in 2001. He is the Founder of the Society of Satellite Professionals, the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation and played a key role in the founding of the International Space University.  He announced the formation of the Clarke Foundation at the White House in 1983 while he was acting a Managing Director of the National Committee for World Communications Year —A US Presidential Appointment.



Back to top