Faculty administration

Deans and Associate Deans

Dean of Science

Bruce Lennox, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Tor.), Tomlinson Professor of Chemistry

The Dean is the Chief Executive Officer of the Faculty


David Stephens, B.Sc., Ph.D. (Nottingham)

Primarily responsible for elements of the academic portfolio, including supporting the Associate Dean (Academic), Associate Dean (Graduate Education), and SOUSA.

Associate Dean (Academic)

Axel Hundemer, Dipl.-Math., Ph.D. (Dr. rer. nat.) (Technische Universität München)

Involved in the approval of new and revised courses and programs; represents the Faculty on University committees related to admissions and curriculum.

Associate Dean (Student Affairs)

Anthony Mittermaier, B.Sc. (Guelph), Ph.D. (Tor.)

Works towards improving the student engagement experience; oversees the Science Office of Undergraduate Student Advising (SOUSA) and collaborates with central Student Services.

Associate Dean (Graduate Education)

Laura Nilson, B.A. (Colgate), Ph.D. (Yale)

Involved with graduate fellowships, courses and programs and in development of various initiatives designed to support graduate students. Chairs the Faculty of Science Committee on Equity and Climate for Working and Learning.

Associate Dean (Research)

John Stix, A.B. (Dart.), M.Sc., Ph.D. (Tor.)

Coordinates the interaction between the Faculty and researchers in Science, and the interaction between the Faculty and other areas promoting research inside and outside the University.

Staff in the Faculty of Science

See the complete list of staff.

Committees in the Faculty of Science

See list of committees.

Back to top