Six new Canada Research Chairs for McGill

Six new Canada Research Chairs have been awarded to McGill University researchers and six chairs have been renewed, bringing a total of more than $12 million to the university over the next five to seven years for research in fields from biodiversity science to broadband access communications.
Published: 17 October 2014
Across the country, the Canada Research Chairs program invests approximately $265 million per year to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds. Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

The Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology), announced on Oct. 16 a total of 137 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 34 postsecondary institutions across Canada. This represents a $118 million investment, with an additional $7.9 million in infrastructure support provided by the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

The McGill chairholders included in this latest funding announcement are:


Myriam Denov, School of Social Work – Tier 1 New – CRC in Youth, Gender and Armed Conflict

Andrew Gonzalez, Department of Biology – Tier 1 New – CRC in Biodiversity science

Brigitte Kieffer, Department of Psychiatry – Tier 1 New – CRC in Neurobiology of Addiction and Mood Disorders

Fabian Lange, Department of Economics – Tier 2 New – CRC in Labour and Personnel Economics

Jean-Francois Trempe, Department of Pharmacology – Tier 2 New – CRC in Structural Pharmacology

Robert Vallerand, formerly of the Department of Educational and Counseling Psychology, was awarded a Tier 1 New CRC in Motivational Processes and Optimal Functioning in the Social Sciences. (Prof. Vallerand recently accepted a position at another university, but the chair will remain at McGill.) 


Brian Chen, Department of Medicine and Neurology & Neurosurgery – Tier 2 Renewal – CRC in Neural Circuit Formation

Delphine Collin-Vézina, School of Social Work – Tier 1 Renewal -- CRC in Child Welfare

Bruno Giros, Department of Psychiatry – Tier 1 Renewal – CRC in Neurobiology of Psychiatric Disorders

Tho Le-Ngoc, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering – Tier 1 Renewal – CRC in Broadband Access Communications

Faiz Jamil Ragep, Institute of Islamic Studies – Tier 1 Renewal – CRC in the History of Science in Islamic Societies 

Michael Wagner, Department of Linguistics – Tier 2 Renewal – CRC in Speech and Language Processing


PHOTO: Owen Egan

Back to top