Hierarchical graph

Organizational Chart

Led by the Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill's senior administrative officers create a vision and direction
for the University.

Administration & Governance

McGill's Senior Administration and governing bodies – the Board of Governors and Senate – provide strategic guidance and oversight, ensuring accountability through a system of formal decision-making and reporting.


Senior Administration

Interim Principal and Vice-Chancellor: Christopher Manfredi

The chief executive officer of McGill, the Principal and Vice-Chancellor works with the University community to achieve excellence in teaching, research and service, and represents McGill to external bodies at home and around the world.  

Office of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor
James Admin. Bldg., Room 506

845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | christopher.manfredi [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-4180

Chief of Staff: Véronique Bélanger

The Chief of Staff is a member of the senior administrative team of the University, working closely with the Principal and students, faculty, and staff, and particularly closely with the University's senior administrative team to ensure that the Principal's directives and initiatives are effectively carried out.

Website | veronique.belanger [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel: 514-398-5190

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic): Angela Campbell and Fabrice Labeau

As McGill's chief academic officer (after the Principal), the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) has responsibility for the development, implementation and assessment of all academic policies and programs, budget planning and allocations.

Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)
845 Sherbrooke Street West, Suite 504
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | Tel.: 514-398-4177

Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning): Fabrice Labeau

The Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning) is the senior administrator responsible for the implementation of policies, actions, and decisions aimed at enhancing student life and learning at McGill.

James Administration Building 
Room 621
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | fabrice.labeau [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel: 514-398-3109

Vice-Principal (Administration and Finance): Yves Beauchamp

The Vice-Principal (Administration and Finance), the chief financial and administrative officer of McGill, oversees financial services, university services and human resources.

James Administration Building 
Room 531
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | yves.beauchamp [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-6037

Vice-Principal (University Advancement): Marc Weinstein

The Vice-Principal (University Advancement) promotes the University to its global community, building on McGill’s record of fundraising success and enhancing relations with alumni, volunteers and friends of McGill.

University Advancement
Martlet House
1430 Peel Street
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 3T3

marc.weinstein [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-5000

University Advancement website | McGill Alumni website

Vice-Principal (Communications & External Relations): Louis Arseneault

The Vice-Principal (Communications & External Relations) oversees and enhances McGill's relations with the media, government and the diplomatic corps, and serves as chief liaison with other organizations and public institutions.

James Administration Building 
Room 519
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | louis.arseneault [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel: 514-398-2612

Vice-Principal (Health Affairs) and Dean of Medicine and Health Sciences: David Eidelman

The Dean of Medicine and Health Sciences is responsible for ensuring the Faculty's excellence in education, research and clinical services. As Vice-Principal, is responsible for creating stronger relationships with the community. 

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
McIntyre Medical Building
3655 Sir William Osler
Montréal, Quebec  H3G 1Y6

Website | david.eidelman [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-1768

Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation): Martha Crago

The Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) oversees research services and policies, works to optimize the research successes of the University and its affiliated hospitals and serves as the main representative on research and related matters.

James Administration Building 
Room 419
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | martha.crago [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-3991

Secretary-General: Edyta Rogowska

The Secretary-General is the University's senior governance officer, leading the Secretariat in support of the Board of Governors and the University Senate. The Secretary-General is also responsible for the office of the Chair of the Board of Governors, the Chancellor, Convocations and ceremonial matters, as well as oversight of impartial processes for tenure and promotion, University-wide elections (to the Senate and the Board), dispute resolution mechanisms, McGill’s trademarks, and access to information.

James Administration Building 
Room 313
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | edyta.rogowska [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel: Tel.: 514-398-3948

General Counsel and Director of Legal Services: Line Thibault

The University's General Counsel serves as Director of Legal Services, and is responsible for providing legal advice to the senior administration of McGill.

James Administration Building 
Room 318
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4

Website | line.thibault [at] mcgill.ca (Email) | Tel.: 514-398-3097



Board of Governors

Under the terms of the University's Royal Charter (1852), the Board of Governors is the University's highest governing body, with general jurisdiction and final authority over the conduct of the affairs of the University.


The Senate exercises general control and supervision over the academic affairs of the institution, subject to the authority of the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors and the Senate each have representatives serving as members of the other body.

Chancellor: John McCall MacBain

The Chancellor is the titular head of the University, the presiding officer of Convocation, and represents the University at official functions.

James Administration Building 
Room 313
845 Sherbrooke Street West
Montréal, Quebec  H3A 0G4


Back to top