Nine McGill researchers among recent CRCs announced


Research fields range from green chemistry to the history of health policy
Published: 15Mar2013
Six McGill chairs have been renewed, and three new chairs added for a total of $9 million dollars awarded to McGill for research in fields ranging from green chemistry to the history of health policy. In total, the federal government announced today 120 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 39 Canadian postsecondary institutions across the country, for a total of $90.6 million.

The investment announced today also includes an additional $4.5 million from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for research infrastructure across the country associated with the new Chair awards.

“The Government of Canada’s top priority is creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity,” said Minister of State Goodyear. “We are committed to fostering innovation through programs like the Canada Research Chairs, which allows researchers to address challenges in areas of health, technology, society, education and economy, among others, and to translate these ideas into processes, policies and products that improve the lives of Canadians.”

The Canada Research Chairs program stands at the centre of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world's top countries in research and development. Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. They improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching, and the coordination of other researchers' work.

The McGill researchers who are among the most recent Canada Research Chairs announced today are:

Lauren Chapman
Canada Research Chair in Respiratory Ecology and Aquatic Conservation
Dept. of Biology

Shelley Clark
Canada Research Chair in Youth, Gender, and Global Health
Dept. of Sociology

Samer Faraj
Canada Research Chair in Technology, Management, and Healthcare
Desaultels Faculty of Management

Victoria Kaspi
Canada Research Chair in Observational Astrophysics
Department of Physics

Stephanie Lehoux
Canada Research Chair in Cardiovascular Physiology
Faculty of Medicine, Division of Experimental Medicine

Audrey Moores
Canada Research Chair in Green Chemistry
Dept. of Chemistry

Gerhard Multhaup
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Pharmacology
Dept. of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Hanadi Sleiman
Canada Research Chair in DNA Nanoscience
Dept. of Chemistry

David Wright
Canada Research Chair in the History of Health Policy
Dept. of History

A complete list of chairholders is available on the Canada Research Chairs website (

Details on the CFI’s funding for research infrastructure associated with the new Chair awards are available on the CFI website (

Contact Information

Katherine Gombay
Media Relations, McGill University
katherine.gombay [at]
Office Phone: