McGill congratulates Order of Canada honorees


Nobel winner, astronaut, leading researchers among 14 recipients with ties to the University

McGill University wishes to congratulate all 74 recipients of the Order of Canada as announced by Governor-General Michaëlle Jean, but especially the 14 honorees who have close ties to the University.

From Nobel prizewinner and alumnus Willard Boyle (Companion) to leading cancer researcher Nahum Sonenberg (Officer) and astronaut and alumna Julie Payette (Officer), McGillians figured prominently in this year’s annual honours list.

“I am delighted to offer my congratulations to so many notable Canadians who have made such important and diverse contributions to Canadian society,” said McGill’s Principal and Vice-Chancellor Heather Munroe-Blum. “We are truly honoured to have so many Order of Canada recipients affiliated with McGill as it underlines our long-lasting commitment to make a significant contribution to our society – from scientific research to philanthropy to education and beyond. It is a proud moment for McGill, but, more important, a proud moment for all those who have been recognized for their efforts at making Canada an even greater country.”

Among the honorees with McGill links are Prof. Claudio Cuello (Officer), a leading figure in neuroscience research, particularly in the exploration of Alzheimer’s disease; Alice Chan-Yip (Member), a McGill grad and associate professor of Medicine whose career has been marked by a strong commitment to multicultural and international medicine; and Ernesto L. Schiffrin (Member), a McGill grad and Canada Research Chair in Medicine, whose work is focused on vascular and hypertension research.

In addition, emeritus Anthropology professor Margaret Lock (Officer) and Psychology professor James C. MacDougall (Member) were honoured, along with major McGill contributor Alvin Segal (promoted to Officer) and honorary degree recipient Joseph Rouleau (promotion to Companion). Alumnus, former Physics professor and winner of the coveted Steacie Prize while at McGill, Louis Taillefer (Member) who is now at the Université de Sherbrooke, was also honoured, as were former Director of the School of Nursing and alumna, Mary Ellen Jeans (Member) for her contributions to advancements in the treatment of chronic pain and as a leader in nursing in Canada. Also among the appointees are Dr. Richard B. Baltzan (Officer), alumnus and member of the McGill Sports Hall of Fame, for  his contributions to the advancement of nephrology in Canada, and alumnus Aftab A. Mufti (Member) for his contributions to and leadership in the field of civil engineering.

The complete list of Order of Canada recipients is available online at:


Contact Information

Doug Sweet
Media Relations Office
doug.sweet [at]
Office Phone: 
Mobile Phone: