M.Sc Program

The M.Sc. program in medical physics is a two-year CAMPEP accredited program. First 5-year accreditation was achieved in 1993, latest reaccreditation awarded in 2018 - full accreditation now valid through to December 2023. The portfolio for CAMPEP reaccreditation will be submitted in 2023.

Students take 11 mandatory medical physics courses (27 credits) during the first year of studies and work on their M.Sc. thesis (18 credits) during the second year of studies under the supervision of an MPU faculty member.

The prerequisites for admission to the M.Sc. program in medical physics are a B.Sc. degree in physics (honors or major) with an undergraduate studies GPA of 3.00 or more. Admission into the MSc program is a competitive process involving a review of all applications by a selection committee following the application deadline. The top-ranked students will be accepted into the program according to program capacity. Typically, the program admits about 10 students per year.

The current M.Sc. thesis program is structured such that, in addition to the basics of medical physics, the students get some practical knowledge through the mandatory laboratory work in radiation oncology, radiology, and nuclear medicine. The students are also given some research training through their thesis work on a medical physics topic. Thus, the program gives students the basic theoretical and practical knowledge of medical physics required to enable them to either enter the job market in clinical physics at an M.Sc. level or continue their studies toward a Ph.D. degree in medical physics. The continuation toward a Ph.D. is recommended only to students who excel during their M.Sc. studies in medical physics.

All courses are mandatory, although in exceptional cases, a student can be exempted from a course (except for the four "core" courses - see below) on the strength of an equivalent graduate course taken elsewhere.

NOTE: Course outlines currently posted may be subject to amendment for academic year 2022-2023.

Core Courses

The four "core" courses, each carrying 3 credits, in the program are:

  • Radiation Physics (MDPH601)
  • Medical Imaging (MDPH607);
  • Physics of Nuclear Medicine (MDPH615);
  • Physics of Diagnostic Radiology (MDPH614).

List of All M.Sc. Courses

The full list of courses for the M.Sc. degree are:

  • Radiation Physics (MDPH601)
  • Radiotherapy Physics (MDPH602)
  • Radiotherapy Laboratory (MDPH603)
  • Medical Imaging (MDPH607)
  • Laboratory in Diagnostic Radiology & Nuclear Medicine (MDPH608)
  • Radiation Biology (MDPH609)
  • Instrumentation & Computation in Medical Physics (MDPH610)
  • Health Physics (MDPH613)
  • Physics of Diagnostic Radiology (MDPH614)
  • Physics of Nuclear Medicine (MDPH615)
  • Anatomy & Physiology for Medical Physics (MDPH618)
  • Thesis Research (MDPH691D1&D2)

For full list of courses with more information » click here


February, 2022

Back to top