Teaching Sites

We teach the principles and practice of family medicine to undergraduate medical students, residents, and students from other healthcare professions. In collaboration with other disciplines, we promote self-directed learning in both community and hospital settings and in urban and rural environments. We provide service to the community through the activities of our clinical faculty, residents, and students in multiple settings.

Among these settings are teaching sites that include both Family Medicine Units (our main teaching sites for students and residents) and multiple community practices, both in rural and urban areas. You will find a non-exhaustive list below. For a more exhaustive list of accredited sites, you can visit the Collége des Médecins du Québec website accreditation page.

McGill currently has six Family Medicine Teaching Units and two associated community practice satellite sites for the training of residents. This gives us the capacity to welcome 84 residents into our program each year. The Quebec Ministry of Health and the four faculties of medicine in Quebec are committed to increasing the percentage of graduating students who become family physicians. This commitment comes from the recognition of the importance of first-line medical care, and from our collective awareness of the social responsibility of our institutions. The target is to provide space for 55% of graduating students to study family medicine. For McGill, this will mean increasing our available residency spots to 106 in 2016. In the years to come, we will be opening new sites and community practices in order to achieve this goal.


Teaching sites

(please note this is not an exhaustive list)

Teaching Units:

Family Medicine Units (FMU)

Herzl Family Medicine Practice (Montreal)

St Mary's Family Medicine Centre (Montreal)

CLSC Côtes des Neiges (CSSS de la Montagne - Montreal)

Family Medicine Unit of Gatineau (CSSS Gatineau)*

 CSSS Jardins Roussillon (Chateauguay)*

 CSSS de la Vallée de l'Or (Val D'Or)*

 CLSC Metro (satellite of CLSC Côtes des Neiges FMU, Montreal)

 Queen Elizabeth Health Centre (satellite of St. Mary's FMU, Montreal)


* Francophone sites

Urban Teaching Sites:

  • Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
  • CRIU (Clinique Réseau Intégrée Universitaire)
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • CSSS de la Montagne:
    • CLSC Côte-des-Neiges
    • CLSC Métro
    • CLSC Parc-Extension
  • Maison Bleue
  • CSSS de Gatineau
  • MUHC (McGill University Health Centre)
    • Montreal Children's Hospital
    • Montreal General Hospital
    • Montreal Neurological Institute
    • Royal Victoria Hospital
    • Montreal Chest Institute
  • Mont Sinai Hospital
  • Centre Hospitalier Pierre-Janet
  • CSSS Lasalle et du Vieux Lachine
  • McGill Sports Medicine Clinic
  • McGill Student Health Service
  • Tiny Tots
  • CLSC Saint-Louis du Parc
  • Urgences Santé
  • Aux Petits Soins

Rural Teaching Sites:

  • CSSS de la Vallée de L’Or – Val D’Or
  • CSSS du Lac Témiscamingue – Ville Marie
  • CSSS de Témiscaming-et-de-Kipawa - Témiscaming
  • CSSS du Haut-Saint-Laurent - Huntingdon
  • CSSS du Haut-Saint-Laurent - Ormstown
  • CSSS de la Vallée-de-la-Gatineau – Maniwaki
  • CSSS de Papineau – Buckingham
  • CSSS de Pontiac – Shawville
  • CSSS des Collines – Wakefield
  • Conseil Cri SSS de la Baie James – Chisasibi
  • Conseil Cri SSS de la Baie James – Mistissini
  • CSSS du Suroît – Valleyfield
  • CSSS La Pommeraie – Cowansville
  • CSSS La Pommeraie Lac Brome – Knowlton
  • CSSS Vaudreuil-Soulanges – Rigaud
  • Inuulitsivik Health Centre – Puvirnituq

2016-2017  Program and institutions accredited