2022-2023 Student Awards and Prizes

Published: 21 September 2023

The Department of English is proud to recognize the following students who have been selected for the awards and scholarships listed below for the 2022-2023 academic year.

(The writing prizes are determined by committees made up of professors in the Department of English, who review submissions with the authors’ names removed.)

  • Allen A. Lang Essay Award for the best essay on a topic related to either Canadian or American Literature after the year 1900.

    Max Grosskopf
  • Catherine M. Shaw Renaissance Award for the best essay on Renaissance literature (excluding essays on Shakespeare)

    Haider Ali
  • Catherine M. Shaw Shakespeare Award for the best essay on Shakespeare

    Jacob Garofalo
  • Charles E. Fremes Memorial Scholarshipawarded to an undergraduate student who has shown achievement in both English and Communication Studies and who has demonstrated leadership.

    Mercy Lingle
  • Charles Macnaghten Prizes: two prizes offered annually in a competition for the best piece of creative writing in English submitted by an undergraduate student of the University

    First prize: Yolanda Smith-Hanson
    Second Prize: Noa Padawer-Blatt
  • Charles William Snyder Memorial Scholarships for outstanding students entering U3 in the Honours, Joint Honours, or Major programs in English

    Tian Mi
    Sophie Semeniuk
    Emma Williamson
  • Dora Forsyth Prize for an outstanding female student in the Department of English

    Emaline Gonzalez Thomas
  • Dow-Hickson Scholarships for outstanding students entering their penultimate or final year in the Honours program in English

    Killian Fortier
    Suzanna Graham
    Matthew Molinaro
    Emma Williamson
  • Elsie Stephen Reford Scholarship for an outstanding student in English

    James Jarrett
  • Harry Barker Memorial Prize to the student with the highest standing in English in the initial year

    Millie Roberts
  • James Darling McCall Scholarship for an outstanding student entering the final year in English Honours

    Matthew Molinaro
  • Jessie Norris Memorial Awardawarded on the basis of academic merit to a student in the Department of English who is entering the final year

    Arthur Weiser
  • Kay MacIver Memorial Prize for the best English essay in the field of English Canadian or French Canadian Literature

    Joshua Janke
  • Lionel Shapiro Awards for Creative Writing to one or more students in the final year of the B.A. course who have demonstrated outstanding literary talent

    Magdalena Nitchi
    Molly Pearce
    Alice Wu
  • Margaret & Graham Neeson Scholarship, awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has completed at least one year of the Honours English Program.

    Haider Ali
  • Mary Keenan Scholarship in English for an outstanding student or students proceeding to the M.A. in English at McGill

    Eliana Freelund
    Lillian Simons
  • Mona Elaine Adilman Poetry Prize for outstanding talent in the area of poetry

    Eva Lynch
  • Peterson Memorial Prize in English Literature to a student with distinction in English Literature who has also shown creative literary ability

    Amalia Mairet
    Noa Padawer-Blatt
  • Shakespeare Scholarship for a student advancing to the final year with special distinction in English Honours courses

    Noa Padawer-Blatt
  • Shakespeare Gold Medal for English Language and Literature (which includes the Lionel Shapiro Award for Achievement in English and the Corinne Fay Tabac Memorial Prize in English Literature)

    Alexandra Colby
Back to top