Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Professor Lara Khoury has received the Barreau du Québec’s Advocatus Emeritus (Ad. E.) designation. The title is awarded to members of the Quebec Bar who have distinguished themselves through a remarkable career, outstanding contributions to the profession, or constructive community work. Professor Khoury and this year’s other recipients will be celebrated at the Barreau’s annual gala, on Tuesday 19 November.

Published on: 3 Oct 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that second-year BCL/LLB student Larissa Parker has won The Economist’s Open Future Essay Competition.

Published on: 27 Sep 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of alumni awards, presented during a reception on September 11. Hillel Rosen, BCL’85, LLB’85, received the James A. Robb Award, while Alexandre Bien-Aimé, BCL/LLB’10, received the Charles D. Gonthier Outstanding Young Alumni Award.

Published on: 18 Sep 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Professor René Provost, Ad. E., has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). Professor Provost is one of nine McGill scholars to be named as RSC Fellows. Their induction will take place on November 22. Established in 1883, the RSC numbers more than 2,400 Fellows, selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Published on: 11 Sep 2019

The O’Brien Graduate Fellowships were established in 2005 through a very generous gift from David O’Brien for outstanding Masters or Doctoral students studying in the area of human rights and legal pluralism in the Faculty of Law, McGill University. McGill’s graduate programs in law are the most extensive in Canada. Courses draw upon the civilian and common law traditions, but also include diverse legal traditions, legal theory, international law, environmental law, health law, human rights law, comparative private and public law, and air and space law.

Published on: 6 Sep 2019

The Faculty of Law is delighted to announce that the Honourable Jeffrey Edwards, BCL’86, LLB’86, was appointed to the Superior Court of Quebec for the district of Montreal on June 4, 2019. He had been sitting at the Court of Quebec, Civil Division, since January 2014.

Justice Edwards obtained both his BCL and LLB from McGill in 1986 before earning an LLD from Université Laval in 1997. He started teaching the law of sale and product liability at the Faculty in 1998, becoming adjunct professor in 2011.

Published on: 22 Jul 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that three of its faculty members are among the successful candidates in the recent elections of the International Academy of Comparative Law (IACL).

Classified as: LLDRL
Published on: 18 Jul 2019

The Faculty of Law is thrilled to announce that former McGill Law professor and dean Nicholas Kasirer, BCL’85, LLB’85, has been nominated to the Supreme Court of Canada. Justice Kasirer will replace Justice Clément Gascon, BCL’81, upon his retirement from the bench in September.

Published on: 11 Jul 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Jakub Adamski, BCL/LLB’02, has been appointed as faculty lecturer, effective June 1, 2019.

A course lecturer at the Faculty since 2012, Adamski has taught a number of large-enrolment courses in business law and securities regulation. As faculty lecturer, he succeeds Cristina Toteda, BCL/LLB’13, at the helm of the first-year Integration Weeks and Integration Workshops, as well as the upper-year Advocacy course. He will also teach other courses, including Legal Ethics and Professionalism.

Published on: 20 Jun 2019

The session will take place on 6 November 2019, with conference to follow on 7-8 November 2019

Location: McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Extended Submission Deadline: 30 July 2019

Classified as: Law Graduate Studies
Published on: 14 Jun 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to announce that Professor Johanne Poirier (BCL’91, LLB’91) received the 2019 John W. Durnford Teaching Excellence Award at the Law Convocation ceremony on May 30, 2019. Professor Colleen Sheppard presented her. This award – named in honour of the late emeritus professor and former dean John W. Durnford (BCL’52) – annually recognizes the exceptional pedagogy of a law professor selected by students via the Law Students’ Association.

Classified as: MacKell Chair
Published on: 5 Jun 2019

The Faculty of Law is pleased to share the recent successes of Professor Marie Manikis, including awards highlighting her strong commitment to legal research.

First, the Faculty of Law is delighted to announce that Professor Manikis has been promoted to associate professor, with tenure, effective June 1, 2019.

Published on: 3 Jun 2019

On May 30, 2019, Emeritus Professor the Honorable Irwin Cotler, P.C., O.C., O.Q. (BA’61, BCL’64), will receive a Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, and give the commencement address at the Faculty of Law’s convocation ceremony.

Published on: 29 May 2019

The Faculty of Law is delighted to announce that the Government of Canada has named DCL candidate Catherine Mathieu a 2019 Vanier Scholar.

Classified as: MacKell Chair
Published on: 28 May 2019


Back to top