Browse Academic Units & Programs

Browse Academic Units and Programs in the Faculty of Arts

Established in 1843, the Faculty of Arts is one of the oldest in Canada and remains the largest at McGill. With over 8,100 full-time undergraduate and 1,200 graduate students and more than 300 full-time professors, the Faculty offers several hundred courses in its 15 departments, 22 interdisciplinary programs, four schools, and four institutes.

The Bachelor of Arts degree integrates the Humanities, Social Sciences, Languages, and Literatures, and a wide range of Interdisciplinary Studies into a coherent academic program. Students have considerable program flexibility. They may concentrate on one or more Arts disciplines while obtaining minor concentrations in other disciplines or faculties.

The Faculty also offers programs leading to a Bachelor of Social Work (B.S.W.), a Bachelor of Theology (B.Th.), and a Diploma in Environment from the Bieler School of Environment.

Programs, Courses and University Regulations—2022-2023 (last updated Feb. 7, 2022) (disclaimer)
Faculty of Arts—2022-2023 (last updated Feb. 7, 2022) (disclaimer)
Back to top