Subscribe to the OSS Weekly Newsletter!

David Harpp PhD - Founding Member and Advisor

David Harpp PhD - Founding Member and Advisor
Contact Information

801 Sherbrooke Street W. | Montreal, Quebec | H3A 0B8

Email address: 
david.harpp [at]

David N. Harpp is a Professor of Chemistry and Tomlinson Chair in Science Education at McGill University. His research interests are centered on organosulfur and selenium molecules, teaching innovations, and academic integrity issues. He has published over 230 research articles in refereed journals including over 20 on teaching. He was instrumental in the creation of McGill's Office for Science and Society and the COOL (COursesOnLine) system of lecture-capture at McGill (2000) enabling tens of thousands of McGill undergraduates to view recorded classes. In addition to having made nearly 600 presentations at conferences, Universities, schools and interest groups, he has received over a dozen local, national and international awards for research, teaching and science promotion. These include the inaugural American Chemical Society’s Edward Leete Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research (1995) and the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Learning at McGill University (2010) and two honorary doctorate degrees (Acadia University, (2000) and University of Guelph, (2012).


CHEM 181: Chemistry of Food

CHEM 183: Chemistry of Drugs

Curriculum vitae: 
Awards, honours, and fellowships: 

1982 Union Carbide Award for Chemical Education, Chemical Institute of Canada.

1982 McGill University, Faculty of Science, Leo Yaffe Award for Excellence in Teaching (Inaugural Award).

1988 Chemical Manufacturer's Association National Catalyst Award (U. S., Canada).

1992  The Royal Society of Canada's McNeil Medal for the Public Awareness of Science with Professors A. Fenster and J. Schwarcz (Inaugural Award).

1993  Le Prix Beppo for scientific animation for young people given by the science magazine "Les Petits D’brouillards" with Professors A. Fenster and J. Schwarcz.

1995  Edward Leete Award of the Organic Division of the American Chemical Society for Excellence in Teaching and Research (Inaugural Award).

1996  McGill University Graduate Faculty's David Thomson Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision and Teaching.

1996 John A. Timm Award for Furtherance of the Study of Chemistry, New England Assoc. of Chemistry Teachers. 1996 Michael Smith Award by the Government of Canada For the Promotion of Science
1998 3M Teaching Fellow by the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

2000  Doctor of Science (honoris causa), Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia.

2001  Principal's Prize for Excellence in Teaching (Inaugural Award), Full Professor Category.

2003 James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry, Northeast Section of the American Chemical Society.

2010 Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Learning, McGill University (Inaugural Award) 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, Government of Canada
2012 Doctor of Laws (honoris causa), Guelph University, Guelph, Ontario.
2015 Canadian Council of Biology Chairs, Science Promotion Prize 

Back to top