Rita & Charles Bronfman Award for Excellence in Teaching in Canadian Studies

The award, which honours the two individuals named in its title, is made possible in part by the Faculty of Arts and by the generosity of Leonard Solomon-Blum and former McGill principal and vice-chancellor, Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum. Valued at $1,000, it is given to a CANS course instructor who has demonstrated outstanding teaching and who is recognized through course evaluations by their own students to have advanced their interest in the study of Canada. 


2015: Orenda Boucher, Contemporary Indigenous Issues in Canada
2016: Kit Dobson, Shopping in Canada
2017: Desmond Morton, The Canadian Military Experience and Nationalism in Canada
2018: Shelley Butler, Canadian Cultures: Context and Issues
2019: Graham Fraser, Quebec Elections, Present and Past: Language Policies and Language Rights
2020: David Austin, Canada and the Caribbean: Politics, Exile, and Black Diaspora
2021: Aedan Alderson, Issues in Indigenous Studies

Back to top