Aerospace Research at McGill

Aerospace at McGill takes a multi-disciplinary approach, with more than 40 faculty members drawn from disciplines in electrical and computer, civil, materials, and mechanical engineering, as well as law. They run research programs worth over $20 million in funding, supported by federal, provincial, international, and industrial programs.

McGill aerospace engineering researchers run advanced lab facilities with state-of-the-art equipment. These are housed across departments and units within the Faculty of Engineering, and at the $7.8-million McGill Aerospace Materials & Alloy Development Centre located at the National Research Council (NRC) in Boucherville, QC. McGill University's Institute of Air and Space Law has a rich history of education, public service and scholarship. 

Key areas of research include:


aerodynamics model

Aerodynamics, Fluid Dynamics, and Propulsion

variable stiffness composite structure

Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Processes

aircraft engine

Avionics and Flight Control

air and space institute members

Air and Space Law

lunar ring rover

Space Systems and Robotics

research lab with professor

Structures, Design, and Optimization

Back to top