Essay Contest: Nappert Prize in International Arbitration 2022

Published: 4 January 2022

Thanks to the generosity of Sophie Nappert (BCL’86, LLB’86), the Nappert Prize in International Arbitration will be awarded for the fifth time in 2022.

The Nappert Competition is open to all students, junior scholars and junior practitioners from around the world. To be eligible for the prize, authors must:

  • be either currently enrolled in a B.C.L, LL.B., J.D., LL.M., D.C.L., or Ph.D. program (or their local equivalents). 
  • have taken their most recent law degree within the last three years; or
  • have been admitted to the practice of law for no more than three years.

Co-authored submissions are permissible, but each author must meet the eligibility criteria. Only one author will be flown to Montreal for the symposium.  


  • First place: CAN $4,000
  • Second place: CAN $2,000
  • Third place: CAN $1,000

Winning one of the awards will also carry with it the presentation of the paper at a symposium to be held at the Faculty of Law of McGill University in 2022 (the expenses of the winners for attending the symposium will be covered), to be held during Canadian Arbitration Week in October, 2022. The precise date of the symposium will be fixed in the coming months.  The best oralist will receive an award of Can. $1,000.


30 April 2022.


The essay:

  • must relate to commercial or investment arbitration;

  • must be unpublished (not yet submitted for publication) as of April 30;

  • must be a maximum of 15, 000 words (including footnotes);

  • can be written in English, French or Spanish;

  • should use OSCOLA or some other well-established legal citation guide (e.g. McGill Red Book; Bluebook);

  • must be in MS Word format.


Jurors for the 2022 competition will be include:

  • Martin Doe Rodriguez, Senior Counsel, Permanent Court of Arbitration, The Hague 

  • Professor Lawrence Boo, Adjunct Professor, National University of Singapore & Head of Chambers, the Arbitration Chambers, Singapore 

  • Jonathan Brosseau, Lawyer and PhD Candidate, University of Paris I: Panthéon-Sorbonne, Paris 

  • Kyongwha Chung, Counsel, Covington, New York 

  • Alexander Fessas, Secretary General, ICC International Court of Arbitration, and Director for ICC Dispute Resolution Services, Paris 

  • Meg Kinnear, Secretary-General, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Washington, DC 

  • Courtney Lotfi, Counsel, Jones Day, Frankfurt  

  • Natalia Marina Zibibbo, Counsel, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, New York 

Additional jurors will be announced shortly

Submissions are to be emailed to [at], as an attached file before 30 April 2022. Submissions should be accompanied by a statement affirming the author’s eligibility for the competition, confirmation that the work is original to the author, and confirmation of  the unpublished status of the paper. Review of the papers will start after April 30.  

For more information, kindly email [at] or Professor darren.rosenblum [at] (Darren Rosenblum), Faculty of Law, McGill University.

Back to top