Eight Faculty of Law alumni win in their ridings

Published: 20 October 2015

In an election that captured the country’s attention, McGill’s Faculty of Law made its voice heard.

Over fifteen Law alumni ran in this election campaign and eight emerged victorious in their ridings last night, including Professor David Lametti, BCL’89, LLB’89 (LPC; LaSalle–Émard–Verdun, QC).

The other elected candidates are Will Amos, BCL/LLB’04 (LPC; Pontiac, QC); Anthony Housefather, BCL’93, LLB’93 (LPC; Mont-Royal, QC); Joël Lightbound, BCL/LLB’11 (LPC; Louis-Hébert, QC); Catherine McKenna, LLB 99 (LPC; Ottawa-Centre, ON); Marc Miller, BCL’01, LLB’01 (LPC; Ville-Marie–Le Sud-Ouest–Île-des-Soeurs, QC); Nick Whalen, LLB’01 (LPC; St. John’s East, NL); and NDP leader Thomas Mulcair, BCL’76, LLB’77 (NDP; Outremont, QC).

“We are very proud of how generations of our students and alumni – of all political affiliations – have been deeply involved in their communities and in civic life all over Canada, and continue to do so,” said Dean Daniel Jutras. “We can be sure that our newly elected Members of Parliament will serve their fellow Canadians wisely and with distinction. Bravo to those who ran, and to those who were elected!”

Back to top