Armand de Mestral awarded the John E. Read Medal

Published: 8 November 2017

The Faculty of Law congratulates Professor emeritus Armand de Mestral on being the 2017 recipient of the Canadian Council on International Law’s John E. Read Medal.

In its announcement, the CCIL highlighted Professor de Mestral’s numerous publications on international trade law and international law, along with his service on the WTO and NAFTA dispute settlement and arbitration tribunals. “Armand has served as a highly regarded mentor to generations of international law students which has left a profound impact on how international law is studied and practiced in Canada and throughout the world,” the announcement read.

The John E. Read Medal is granted to Canadians who have made a distinguished contribution to international law and organizations, and to non-Canadians who have made an outstanding contribution to international law and organizations in the fields of special interest to Canada. Past recipients include several great names of McGill Law’s history, including Stephen J. Toope, BCL’83, LLB’83, LLD’17; Maxwell Cohen, LLD’94; and John P. Humphrey, BCL’29, LLD’76.

Professor de Mestral, C.M., has taught constitutional law, law of the sea, public international law, international trade law, international arbitration, the law of the European Community, and public international air law. He was made Member of the Order of Canada in December 2007. In December 2014, he was appointed Senior Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI).

About The Canadian Council on International Law

The Canadian Council on International Law (CCIL) was established in 1972 in order to promote the cooperative study and analysis of international legal problems by scholars in universities and by professionals in government service and private practice. Since its establishment, the CCIL has grown into an organization with over 400 members from within Canada and around the world, representing a wide range of interests and professions.

Back to top