Seven Canada Research Chairs for HBHL Scientists

Published: 20 June 2019

The federal government has announced 26 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at McGill, including seven supported by Healthy Brains Healthy Lives (HBHL).

The appointments, announced by Minister of Science Kirsty Duncan on June 14, support researchers whose work represents a cross-section of biological, psychological and social issues related to neuroscience and mental health.

“HBHL is very proud of our Canada Research Chairs—all of whom are conducting ground-breaking research with the potential to change our understanding of the human brain at every stage of life,” said Martha Crago, McGill’s Vice- Principal, Research and Innovation, and Chair of HBHL’s Board of Directors. “Government funding is vital for their work and helps McGill attract and retain some of the top scholars in the world.”

Three of the new Canada Research Chairs (CRC) have been awarded to faculty members who were recruited to McGill for their expertise in areas related to HBHL. Michael MacKenzie, Professor in the School of Social Work in the Faculty of Arts, was appointed CRC in Child Well-Being. He joined McGill in September 2018 and is leading the HBHLTheme Population Neuroscience and Brain Health.

Joining McGill’s Montreal Neurological Institute-Hospital (The Neuro) in August of 2019, Jenny Xiaoqian Chai, CRC in Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, and Yang Zhou, CRC in Neurobiology of Developmental Brain Disorders are early career researchers with exceptional track records in their respective fields. They are both receiving start-up funding from HBHL and we look forward to welcoming them into the HBHL community.

HBHL congratulates all of our new CRC holders!

  • Edward A. Fon, Canada Research Chair in Parkinson’s Disease, CIHR, Tier 1 (New)
  • David Juncker, Canada Research Chair in Bioengineering, NSERC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Michael J. MacKenzie, Canada Research Chair in Child Well-Being, SSHRC, Tier 1 (New)
  • Bratislav Misic, Canada Research Chair in Network Neuroscience, NSERC, Tier 2 (New)
  • Jean-François Trempe, Canada Research Chair in Structural Pharmacology, CIHR, Tier 2 (Renewal)
  • Jenny Xiaoqian Chai, Canada Research Chair in Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)
  • Yang Zhou, Canada Research Chair in Neurobiology of Developmental Brain Disorders, CIHR, Tier 2 (New)

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the federal government in 2000 to promote excellence and innovation in research by rewarding the country's leading academics and attracting the best research minds in the world to study at Canadian universities.

See the full list of CRCs at McGill

Read the original news release

Back to top