More from Dentistry News

classified as:
  • dent_fac

Dr. Jocelyne Feine receives IADR Distinguished Service Award

Last week, Dr. Jocelyne Feine was honoured with IADR’s Distinguished Service Award in Seattle, WA. The award is presented to an individual member of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) for outstanding instances of service to the Association or distinguished service over a period of time. It is intended to recognize members who have not served as officers of the IADR official....

Published: 1 Apr 2013

Dr. Marc McKee: Gains made towards treatment of rare bone disease

Elusive substrate protein identified in the most common form of heritable rickets

Published: 19 Feb 2013

Dr. Laura Stone: Chronic pain alters DNA marking in the brain

The team led by Prof. Laura Stone, a professor at the Faculty of Dentistry and the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain, and Prof. Moshe Szyf, a professor at the Faculty of Medicine’s Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, have discovered a mechanism that embeds the memory of an injury in the way the DNA is marked in the brain by a chemical coating called methyl groups or DNA methylation....

Published: 19 Feb 2013

Board approves Dr. Paul Allison's Decanal re-appointment

Principal and Vice-Chancellor Heather Munroe-Blum and Provost Anthony C. Masi are pleased to report that at its meeting of February 12, 2013, the University’s Board of Governors approved the following appointment.

Prof. Paul Allison has been reappointed, effective June 1, 2013, to a second five-year term as Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry.

Published: 13 Feb 2013

Graduate student Akanksha Srivastava featured in the Feb/March 2013 edition of the Journal de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Graduate student Akanksha Srivastava is featured in the February/March 2013 edition of the Journal de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec....

Published: 6 Feb 2013

Professor Marc McKee leads group receiving $3.7M for a new cryo-electron microscope

Professors Marc McKee (as lead investigator), Jake Barralet and Maryam Tabrizian, along with Hojatollah Vali as Director of the Facility for Electron Microscopy Research (FEMR) and six others, have received funding for a new cryo-focused ion beam scanning electron microscope.  This nanotechnology instrument allows artifact-free sectioning of essentially any hard or soft material ‒ particularly frozen biological cells and tissues including bones and teeth ‒ for correlative microscopies an...

Published: 16 Jan 2013

Graduate student Khady Ka wins CADR research award

Graduate student Khady Ka won first place in the Senior Clinical Research Category of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) student research award competition. This award was for her project "Clustering of metabolic abnormalities and periodontal inflammation in children," supervised by Dr. Belinda Nicolau....

Published: 15 Jan 2013

2012 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Student Scholarship Award Winner Kristina Dee

Kristina Dee DMD 2012 received the 2012 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Student Scholarship Award. The purpose of the award is “to reward higher education students from across Canada who enhance the learning environment....

Published: 19 Dec 2012

Dental student Daniel Salah wins CADR research award

Dental student Daniel Salah has won 1st place in the Junior Category of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) student research award competition.  This award was for his research work on “Salivary sHLA-G in scleroderma patients and controls,” with Dr. M. Gornitsky and Dr. Ana Velly as supervisors of the study.  Mr....

Published: 17 Dec 2012

Dr. Laura Stone on TeleQuebec’s Le Code Chastenay.

Dr. Laura Stone describes her findings on lower back pain and changes in the brain on TeleQuebec’s Le Code Chastenay.

Watch here (1st story after intro)

Published: 8 Nov 2012

Election Results: Executive Committee, Part-time Staff Representative

The election to select the next part-time staff representative of the Executive Committee closed on Tuesday, October 30, 2012 at 5 pm.  A total of 30 votes were received.  Dr. Earl Karanofsky was elected by majority vote as your next representative for a three-year term.

We express our thanks to Dr. Stewart Shapiro for considering this position and congratulate Dr. Earl Karanofsky on winning the election.

Published: 2 Nov 2012

Dr. Marie Dagenais is the 2012 Dr. Ralph Silverstone Teaching Award Winner

We are pleased to announce that the winner of this year's Dr. Ralph Silverstone Teaching Award is Dr. Marie Dagenais. Dr. Dagenais graduated from Université de Montreal in 1983 and in 1988 completed her Diploma in Oral Radiology at the University of Toronto. She became a member of the Royal College of Dentists of Canada in 1989 and in 1988 she became an Assistant Professor at the Faculty....

Published: 3 Oct 2012

CBC radio interview about the Run for Outreach

Class of 2014 dental student Lauren Vredenberg is interviewed by CBC radio at "All in a weekend" to talk about the September 30th Run for Outreach. Click here to listen.

Published: 1 Oct 2012