Dr. Christophe Bedos wins the ADEA 2024 Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford Faculty Leadership Award

Congratulations to Associate Professor Dr. Christophe Bedos, who was honored at the 2024 American Dental Education Association’s Annual Session with the ADEA Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford Faculty Leadership Award.

The award recognizes faculty members in dental or allied dental education institutions in the United States and Canada who are dedicated to academia, diversity and social justice; demonstrate compassion, integrity and humanism in their interactions with one another; and encourage the larger oral health education community to embrace and model these characteristics. It is named in honour of Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford, who became the first female and African American dean of a American dental school in 1975 when she was named Dean of the Howard University College of Dentistry.

In his video acceptance speech, Dr. Bedos thanked the ADEA and the Leonard and Valachovic Fund, sponsors of the award, and said to have his name associated with Dr. Sinkford is an immense honour as she has exemplified courage and leadership and has advocated for things close to his heart. "This award tells me not to give up, and more than ever to advocate for solidarity, social justice and health inequalities. In our universities, in our classes, and in our clinics we change our world for the better. Those belong to the legacy of Dr. Sinkford." 

To view the video click here


Back to top