Celebrating the Class of 2020

Congratulations to the class of 2020!

Although the academic year took a different turn, the Faculty of Dentistry is proud to nonetheless present a special Virtual Convocation Ceremony celebrating this year's graduating class and award recipients.

Ph.D. in Craniofacial Health Sciences

Dr. Ghada Abdelkareem A. Elghanam
The efficacy and safety of bone marrow-derived cells extract in the management of Sjögren’s-like disease in NOD mouse model
Direction: S. Tran

Haider Abdulameer A. Al-Waeli
Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs’ (NSAIDs)chronotherapy may enhance bone healing aft er surgery
Direction: F. A. Tamimi Marino; B. Nicolau

Balqees Saad Almufleh
Patient-reported outcomes of removable partial denture treatment
Direction: E. Emami; F. A. Tamimi Marino

André Marc Charbonneau
Egg yolk plasma, gelled egg yolk plasma and egg white combinations for three dimensional cultures and bioprinting of salivary glands
Direction: S. Tran

Benjamin Dalisson
In vitro and in vivo oxygen delivery applications and its limitations
Direction: J. Barralet

Osama Abd EL Rehem ElKashty
Effectiveness of sulforaphane in increasing drug mediated cytotoxicity toward cancer stem cells in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma
Direction: S. Tran

Oume Kaushar Jahan
Development of a novel injectable phosphatereleasing purine-crosslinked chitosan scaff old for bone tissue engineering applications
Direction: M. Tabrizian

Yara Ghaleb Oweis
Surface chemical modification of dental materials
Direction: F. A. Tamimi Marino; M. Cerruti

Xinyun Su
Cell extracts mitigate irradiation-injured salivary glands
Direction: S. Tran

Huifang Sun
The role of transglutaminases in osteoclastogenesis
Direction: M. Kaartinen










M.Sc. in Dental Sciences

Thesis Track 

Areej Abdel Jabbar
“Single-implant overdentures retained by the Novaloc attachment system: a randomized cross-over trial”

Abdalgader Alhozgi
“Rural-urban disparities in patient satisfaction with oral health care”

Celine Agnes
“Using the guanosine diphosphate (GDP) cross-linked chitosan sponge as a platform for the co-culture of endothelial and pre-osteoblast cells in attempt to produce osteogenesis and angiogenesis”

Nasser Alshahrani
“The effect of histamine-2 receptor antagonist on bone healing and implant osseointegration”

Thesis Track (cont'd)

Navpreet Arora
“Risk factors related to chronic neuropathic pain after breast cancer surgery - a prospective cohort study”

Arish Jagde
‘Patients' e-readiness to use e-health technologies for oral health”

Manuella Widjaja
“There is More: An exploration of adolescent girls living with chronic pain”

Mohammed Mahri
“Osseointegration Pharmacology: A Systematic Mapping Using Artificial Intelligence”

Madhura Tandale
“We are what we are: Religious discrimination and oral health care among Muslim people in Montreal”

Non-Thesis Track

Dhruv Chauhan















Doctor of Dental Medicine (DMD)

Dr. Mai Abdel-Azim

  • American College of Prosthodontists Predoctoral Achievement Award
  • Canadian Academy of Periodontology Award of Excellence

Dr. Caroline Abi-Azar

Dr. Jessica Adamczyk (Dean’s Honour List)

  • Dr. A.W. Thornton Medal
  • Dr. W.G. Leahy Prize
  • Dr. A.L. Walsh Prize
  • Dr. Marvin and Mandy Werbitt Award in Periodontics
  • Prix Aldis Bernard
  • Dr. E.J. Rajcak Student Scholar Award for Restorative Excellence
  • The 3M Oral Care Student Clinical Award
  • American Academy of Periodontology Student Award

Dr. Aatika Ahmed

Dr. Jean-Daniel Azuelos

Dr. Luc Richard Boutin (Distinction)

  • American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Award

Dr. Hafsa Cherid

Dr. Alicia Chisholm

Dr. Adam Dadoun

Dr. Valérie Exama

Dr. Matthew Faigan

  • Dr. André Charest Prize

Dr. Maria Franco Echevarria

  • Dr. A. Gerald Racey Award

Dr. Badr Hefnawi (Distinction)

  • Prix d’excellence Jean Robert Vincent
  • American Dental Society of Anesthesiology’s Horace Wells Senior Student Award
  • American Academy of Implant Dentistry Undergraduate Dental Student Award

Dr. Raquel Herscovici (Distinction)

  • Academy of General Dentistry’s Senior Dental Student Award

Dr. Brandon Hersh

Dr. Simon Huang

Dr. Nidhi Kantawala

Dr. Kijoo Kim

  • Canadian Dental Association Student Leadership Award
  • American College of Dentists: Outstanding Student Leader Award

Dr. Sukhdeep Kooner

  • Dr. Paul A. Marchand and Maurine McNeil Marchand Prize

Dr. Ulyana Lenyk

Dr. Sébastien Michaud

Dr. Fatemeh Mortazavi Alavi

Dr. Bach Kim Nguyen

Dr. Quynh-Anh Nguyen

Dr. Mitchell Pinto (Dean’s Honour List)

  • McGill Alumnae Society Prize
  • American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Award
  • American Association of Endodontist’s Student Achievement Award in Endodontics

Dr. Natalie Pollock

  • Prix Micheline Blain: ACDQ Prize

Dr. Sara Riad (Dean’s Honour List)

  • Pierre Fauchard Academy’s Senior Student Award of Recognition

Dr. Maxime Rousseau

Dr. Arielle Sabbah

Dr. Marise Samaan

  • Prix de la Fondation de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Dr. You-yu (Irene) Shih

Dr. Krishnaa Siva

Dr. Marie-Flore Vallières

  • Canadian Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Dr. Norman Levine Undergraduate Dental Student Award

Dr. Angela Tianqi Wang

Dr. Wei (Jason) Wu (Dean’s Honour List)

  • Dr. J.K. Carver Award
  • American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons Dental Student Award
  • American Association of Orthodontists Award

Dr. Wenjia Wu (Distinction)

  • Dr. Soo Kim Lan Prize in Dentistry
  • American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology Award

Dr. Kate Zhang

  • Dr. James McCutcheon Medal
  • American Association of Public Health Dentistry Award

Dr. Sahar Zamani

  • Prix de l’Académie dentaire du Québec: Prix de professionalisme






Teaching Awards

W.W. Wood Award

Excellence in Dental Education

Dr. Meng François Seng


The Howard S. Katz Excellence in Teaching Award

Superior teaching at the Undergraduate level in Dentistry

Dr. Frances Power

Back to top