Cognitive Science Program

Cognitive Science is the interdisciplinary study of cognition in humans, animals, and machines. It encompasses the traditional disciplines of psychology, computer science, neuroscience, linguistics and philosophy. The goal of cognitive science is to understand the principles of intelligence with the hope that this will lead to better comprehension of the mind and of learning and to develop intelligent devices.

Undergraduate Cognitive Science studies at McGill are truly interdisciplinary, with five principal areas which contribute to the Cognitive Science Program:

  • Computer Science
  • Linguistics
  • Neuroscience
  • Philosophy
  • Psychology

The Interfaculty Program in Cognitive Science is a Bachelor of Arts & Science (B.A.Sc.) degree program. Any student admitted to the Bachelor of Arts & Science may enter the Interfaculty Cognitive Science program.  After spending a year in the program, students may also enter the Honours in Cognitive Science program.  Both programs must be completed with a minor program, chosen from the list of minors for B.A.Sc. students.

Students in the Faculty of Arts or the Faculty of Science may choose to complete a minor in Cognitive Science.


For more information, please contact:

Liana Hall DuMond
Cognitive Science Advisor
Faculty of Science
liana.hall [at] (email )| how to book an appointment

Professor Tim O'Donnell
Cognitive Science Program Director
Department of Linguistics
William Dawson Scholar
timothy.odonnell [at] (email) | website 


Cognitive Science Committee

Current members of the Cognitive Science Committee:

  • timothy.odonnell [at] (Tim O'Donnell), Cognitive Science Program Director
  • liana.hall [at] (Liana Hall DuMond), Cognitive Science Program Advisor
  • Blake Richards, Computer Science representative
  • morgan.sonderegger [at] (Morgan Sonderegger), Linguistics representative
  • david.ragsdale [at] (David Ragsdale), Neuroscience representative
  • Ian Gold, Philosophy representative
  • Milica Miočević, Psychology representative




Back to top