Recipients of the 2014 Governor General's Medals in Architecture announced


From the Daily News webpage of the Canadian Architect website:

The Canada Council for the Arts and RAIC | Architecture Canada recently announced the recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. The awards celebrate outstanding design in recently completed projects by Canadian architects. The winning buildings reflect excellence in sustainable design, innovation and compatibility with the landscape.

Of the 14 winners, two have special connections to McGill:

Mies van der Rohe Gas Station Conversion in Verdun, Quebec, by Les Architectes FABG: Eric Gauthier, a principal of Les Architectes FABG, is Gerald Sheff Visiting Professor in Architecture for the Winter 2014 term.

Raymond-Lévesque Public Library in Saint-Hubert, Quebec, by Atelier TAG and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes en consortium: Manon Asselin (B.Arch. 1992, M.Arch. 2001) is co-founder, with her partner Katsuhiro Yamazaki (B.Arch. 1996), of Atelier TAG. They were Gerald Sheff Visiting Professors in Architecture at the School during the Fall 2012 term. Other key members on the Atelier TAG team who are McGill alumni include Pawel Karwowski (B.Arch. 1996), Mathieu Lemieux-Blanchard (B.Sc.[Arch.] 2004), Conor Sampson (B.Arch. 1996), and Éole Sylvain Hupé (M.Arch. 2011).

Eleven of the 12 buildings selected this year were built to enhance community life. Projects include cooperative housing, university buildings, a city hall, a community centre, an outdoor stage and two libraries. Winners will present their projects in a free public lecture in the auditorium of the National Gallery of Canada on May 12, 2014 at 6:00pm, and the Awards will be presented during a ceremony at Rideau Hall on May 13, 2014 at 2:00pm.

“Our built environments have a profound impact on our lives and communities,” said His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada. “That is why I am so pleased to honour the many talented Canadian architects at work today, including the recipients of this year’s Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. Working as individuals and in teams, they have made lasting architectural contributions to communities in Canada and internationally, and for that I am truly grateful.”

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture, created by RAIC | Architecture Canada, contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increase public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners.

Members of the 2014 peer assessment committee were: James KM Cheng, FRAIC; Maxime Frappier, MIRAC; David Miller, MRAIC; Roberta Brandes Gratz; and Dorte Mandrup.

Donate to the school: