Quick Links

Shauna Van Praagh

Professeure titulaire

Pavillon Chancellor-Day
3644, rue Peel
Salle 38
Montréal, Québec
Canada H3A 1W9

514-398-6626 [Bureau]
shauna [dot] vanpraagh [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Courriel)


Profils "Enseigner et apprendre": Poser de bonnes questions
Consultez sa Liste de publications [.doc] (rév. septembre 2015)
Lisez ses articles sur SSRN 


Biographie

Shauna Van Praagh est professeure titulaire à la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill, où elle enseigne depuis 1993.  Elle a été vice-doyenne (études supérieures en droit) de 2007-2010.  La professeure Van Praagh est experte dans les domaines du droit et les enfants, le droit et la religion, l’éducation juridique, et la responsabilité civile délictuelle.  Dans chacun de ces domaines, elle utilise une approche méthodologique basée sur le pluralisme juridique, la critique liée aux questions d’identité, et une emphase sur les sources et le style littéraires.  Avec son collègue Helge Dedek, elle a récemment publié Stateless Law: Evolving Boundaries of a Discipline (2015), dans lequel son propre chapitre discute de la réponse aux pensionnats autochtones dans l’enseignement du droit.

La professeure Van Praagh enseigne actuellement un cours de première année en Obligations extracontractuelles, un cours de deuxième année en Obligations en ‘common law’, et un cours en éducation juridique qui vise les doctorants en droit à McGill. Elle a par ailleurs aussi enseigné “Social Diversity and Law”, “Children and Law”, “Foundations of Canadian Law”, et “Feminist Legal Theory”. Dans le cadre du programme McGill-Hebrew University en droits de la personne, elle a aussi offert des cours intensifs portant sur la gouvernance de la diversité, le droit humanitaire, et la justice socio-économique.

Ancienne présidente (2013-2014) de l’Association canadienne des professeur(e)s en droit, Shauna Van Praagh a été nommée membre du “National Requirement Review Committee” de la Fédération des ‘Law Societies’ du Canada.  Comme professeure de la faculté de droit, elle a présidé en 1995-96 le comité sur la réforme de l’enseignement qui a mis en place le programme unique en éducation juridique offert par McGill. Récipiendaire du prix John W. Durnford pour l’enseignement, la professeure Van Praagh est depuis vingt ans engagée dans le développement de l’apprentissage et la pédagogie en droit.

Shauna Van Praagh a travaillé de 1989 à 1990 comme stagiaire pour le très honorable Brian Dickson, Juge en chef du Canada.  Elle a enseigné à la faculté de droit de l’Université Columbia (1990-1992) et de King’s College London (1992-1993).  Elle a de plus été associée pendant une année sabbatique (2010-2011) à l’université Torcuato Di Tella à Buenos Aires. Elle est diplômée de l’Université de Toronto (B.Sc. 1986 et LL.B. 1989) et de l’Université Columbia (LL.M. 1992 et J.S.D. 2000). Sa thèse de doctorat s’intitulait “Follow the Children: Identity, Integrity, Learning and Law”.

Études

J.S.D. degree (Columbia) 2000

LL.M. (Columbia) 1992

LL.B. (Toronto) 1989

B.Sc. (Toronto) 1986

Parcours professionnel

Professeure titulaire, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 2015-

Vice-doyenne, études supérieures, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 2007-2010

Professeure agrégée, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 2000-2015

Professeure adjointe, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 1995-2000

Professeur adjointe invitée, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 1994-1995

Boursière Boulton, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 1993-1994

Professeure invitée, King's College, London, 1992-1993

Associée en enseignement, Columbia University, 1990-1992

Stagiaire auprès du juge en chef Dickson, Cour suprême du Canada, 1989-1990

Champs d'intérêt

Enseignement : les obligations extracontractuelles; les obligations avancées en common law; le droit et l’enfance; le droit et la diversité.

Recherche : les histoires d’enfants et le droit de la responsabilité délictuelle; le droit et la religion (vie et droit hasidiques); l’éducation juridique; l’administration de la diversité par le droit.

Shauna Van Praagh

Full Professor

Chancellor Day Hall
Room 38
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H3A 1W9


514-398-6626 [Office]
shauna.vanpraagh [at] mcgill.ca (Email)

Shauna Van Praagh


Video: Palsgraf v Long Island Railroad: A Case of Transsystemic Tort Law (1:49:51)
Talking Teaching Profiles: Asking good questions
See her List of publications [.docx] (rev. September 2015)
Read her articles on SSRN 

Professor Van Praagh is also behind the Legal Education Seminar Working Papers, written by students taking her Legal Education Seminar (LAWG 525) course.


Biography

Shauna Van Praagh is Full Professor in the Faculty of Law, McGill, where she has taught and researched since 1993.  She served as Associate Dean (Graduate Studies) from 2007-2010. Professor Van Praagh’s substantive areas of research and expertise are primarily children and law, religion and law, legal education and the private law of civil wrongs. Within each area, she adopts a methodological approach grounded in legal pluralism, a sensibility to identity-based narrative and critique, and a particular emphasis on literary sources and style. She recently co-edited, with McGill colleague Helge Dedek, a book collection (Stateless Law: Evolving Boundaries of a Discipline, 2015) in which her own chapter focuses on teaching, learning, and responding to the legacy of Residential Schools for Canada’s aboriginal children.

Professor Van Praagh currently teaches Extra-contractual obligations/Torts to first year law students, Advanced Common Law Obligations to second year students, and a seminar in Legal Education to graduate and upper year students. In addition, she has taught Social Diversity and Law, Children and Law, Foundations of Canadian Law, Feminist Legal Theory, and specialized courses related to governance of diversity, law of armed conflict, and socio-economic justice within the Hebrew University – McGill human rights summer program.

As past president (2013-2014) of the Canadian Association of Law Teachers, Shauna Van Praagh was appointed in 2015 as one of two academic members of the National Requirement Review Committee under the auspices of the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. At the Faculty of Law at McGill, she chaired the 1995-96 Committee on Curricular Reform, which produced the blueprint for the revised program of legal education introduced in 1999. A recipient of the John W. Durnford Teaching Award, Professor Van Praagh has been intensively involved in the development of teaching and learning in law.

Professor Van Praagh clerked for The Right Honourable Brian Dickson, Chief Justice of Canada, from 1989 to 1990.  She has taught at Columbia Law School (1990-1992) and King’s College London (1992-1993), and was a visitor at Universidad Torcuato Di Tella in Buenos Aires in 2010-2011. She holds a B. Sc. (with High Distinction) (1986) and an LL.B. (with Honours) (1989) from the University of Toronto, and an LL.M. (1992) and J.S.D. (2000) from Columbia University.  Her doctoral dissertation was entitled “Follow the Children: Identity, Integrity, Learning and Law”.

Education

J.S.D. degree (Columbia) 2000

LL.M. (Columbia) 1992

LL.B. (Toronto) 1989

B.Sc. (Toronto) 1986

Employment

Full Professor, McGill Faculty of Law, 2015-

Associate Dean, Graduate studies, McGill Faculty of Law, 2007-2010

Associate Professor, McGill Faculty of Law, 2000-2015

Assistant Professor, McGill Faculty of Law, 1995-2000

Visiting Assistant Professor, McGill Faculty of Law, 1994-1995

Boulton Fellow, McGill Faculty of Law, 1993-1994

Visiting Scholar, King's College London, 1992-1993

Teaching Associate, Columbia, 1990-1992

Law Clerk to the Rt. Hon. Chief Justice Dickson, Supreme Court of Canada, 1989-1990

Areas of Interest

Teaching: Extracontractual Obligations, Advanced Common Law Obligations, Social Diversity and Law, Children and Law

Research: Children’s Stories and the Law of Civil Wrongs; Religion and Law (Chasidic Law and Life); Legal Education; Governing Diversity through Law