Quick Links

Ram Jakhu

Professeur agrégé
Directeur adjoint, Centre de recherche de droit aérien et spatial

3690, rue Peel
Salle 200
Montréal, Québec
Canada H3A 1W9

514-398-1382 [Bureau]
ram [dot] jakhu [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Courriel)


Site web: Institut de droit aérien et spatial de McGill
Télécharger: Curriculum vitae et liste de publications [.pdf] (m. à j.: août 2013)
Entrevue vidéo avec le Wall Street Journal sur le programme spatial de l'Inde: India's spacecraft programme (Novembre 2013)
Entrevue vidéo avec le Wall Street Journal sur le satellite indien qui a atteint la planète Mars: India's Mangalyaan satellite reaches Mars orbit (Septembre 2014)


Biographie

Le professeur Jakhu enseigne et fait de la recherche dans le domaine du droit spatial international, du droit spatial et ses applications, du droit de la commercialisation de l'espace, de la régulation gouvernementale de l'activité spatiale, du droit des télécommunications et du droit canadien des communications.

Le professeur Ram Jakhu a (1) été membre du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, 1992-1995; (2) été membre du comité d'experts sur la Clause compromissoire type à utiliser dans le cadre du Règlement facultatif pour l'arbitrage des différends relatifs aux activités liées à l'espace extra-atmosphérique  (Cour permanente d'arbitrage, La Haye); (3) a fait des présentations devant les sous-comités scientifique et technique du Comité des utilisations pacifiques de l'espace extra-atmosphérique des Nations Unies en 2011 et 2012;  et (4) a présidé le Groupe de travail des Nations Unis qui a préparé un nouveau cursus pour un cours sur les communications satellite qui a été enseigné dans les Centres des Nations Unies sur la science et la technologie de l'espace en 2008-2009.

Il est membre du Space Security Council of the World Economic Forum; directeur de la rédaction de la Space Regulations Library Series, membre du Comité de rédaction des Annales de droit aérien et spatial; et membre du comité consultatif du Institute for Competitiveness. Il est également membre du Comité de l'Institut international de droit spatial de la Fédération internationale d'astronautique.

En 2007, le professeur Ram Jakhu recevait le Prix de reconnaissance pour services exceptionnels de l'Institut international de droit spatial pour ses contributions à la recherche en matière de droit spatial. En 2011, l'Académie internationale d'astronautique (AIA) LUI octroyait  le Prix littéraire des sciences sociales pour son livre National Regulation of Space Activities (Springer, 2010).

Le professeur Jakhu est en mesure de superviser des étudiants de cycle supérieurs ou au post-doctorat et travaillant sur des sujets liés au droit de l'espace, des applications spatiales,  et de la sécurité dans l'espace, ou encore à lcommercialisation de l'espace, les télécommunications, les droit international public, ou droit canadien des communications.

Études

BA, Panjab University
LLB, Panjab University
LLM, Panjab University, International Law
LLM, McGill University, Air & Space Law
DCL, McGill University, Law of Outer Space & Telecommunications (Palmarès du doyen)

Parcours professionnel

Professeur agrégé, Faculté de droit, Université McGill (1998- )

Directeur adjoint, Centre de recherche de droit aérien et spatial, Université McGill (2006- )

Directeur, Centre pour l’étude des industries réglementées, Université McGill, 1999-2004

Premier directeur du programme MSS, directeur de l’École des sciences sociales et de gestion, et membre senior du corps professoral, Université internationale de l'espace, Strasbourg, France, 1995-1998

Champs d'intérêt

Droit de l'espace, droit des applications spatiales, droit de la sécurité dans l'espace, commercialisation de l'espace, télécommunications, droit international public, droit canadien des communications.

Quick Links

Ram Jakhu

Associate Professor
Associate Director, Centre for Research of Air and Space Law

3690 Peel Street 
Room 200
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H3A 1W9

514-398-1382 [Office]
ram [dot] jakhu [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Email)

Ram Jakhu


Website: McGill Institute of Air and Space Law
Download: Curriculum vitae & list of publications [.pdf] (updated August 2013)
Video interview with Wall Street Journal on India's spacecraft programme (November 2013) 
Video interview with Wall Street Journal on India's Mangalyaan satellite reaches Mars orbit (September 2014)



Biography

Professor Jakhu teaches and conducts research in international space law, law of space applications, law of space commercialization, government regulation of space activities, law of telecommunications and Canadian communications law, and public international law.

Professor Ram Jakhu (1) served as a Member of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal, 1992-1995, where he adjusted several cases related to human rights, (2) was a Member of the Advisory Group of Legal Experts on Optional Rules for Arbitration of Disputes Relating to Outer Space (of the Permanent Court of Arbitration, The Hague, the Netherlands) that developed Optional Rules for Arbitration of Disputes Relating to Outer Space Activities, 6 December 2011, (3) made presentations to the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee of the United Nations Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space, in 2011 and 2012, and (4) was the Chair of the United Nations Working Group which updated, expanded and finalized the curriculum for a course on Satellite Communications to be taught at the UN Centres for Space Science and Technology in 2008-2009.

He is a member of the Space Security Council of the World Economic Forum; the managing editor of Space Regulations Library Series; a member of the Editorial Board of the Annals of Air and Space Law; a member of the Board of Directors of the International Institute of the Space Law; a member of the Advisory Board of Institute for Competitiveness; and Chairman of the Legal and Regulatory Committee of International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety.

In 2007, Professor Ram Jakhu received a “Distinguished Service Award” from the International Institute of Space Law for significant contribution to the development of space law. In 2011, the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) awarded him its Social Sciences Book Award for his book National Regulation of Space Activities (Springer, 2010).

Professor Jakhu is happy to supervise graduate and postdoctoral students working on topics related to space law, law of space applications, space security and safety, space commercialisation, telecommunications, public international law, and Canadian communications law.

Education

BA, Panjab University
LLB, Panjab University
LLM, Panjab University, International Law
LLM, McGill University, Air & Space Law
DCL, McGill University, Law of Outer Space & Telecommunications

Employment

Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University, 1998-

Associate Director, Center for Research in Air and Space Law, McGill University, 2006-

Director, Centre for the Study of Regulated Industries, McGill University, 1999-2004

First Director of the MSS Program, Head of School of Social Sciences and Senior Faculty Member, International Space University, Strasbourg, France, 1995-1998

Areas of Interest

General space law, law of space applications, space security and safety, space commercialisation, telecommunications, public international law, and Canadian communications law.