Convocation congratulations

Published: 2 June 2015

On behalf of the Faculty of Science and on the occasion of Science Convocation ceremonies (June 2, 2015), Dean of Science Martin Grant offer congratulations to all graduating students, from bachelor's to doctoral, and also to the following prizewinners.

Congratulations to Mr. Lou Beaulieu-Laroche for being selected to hold the Faculty of Science's Moyse Travelling Scholarship this year! This scholarship for graduating students is tenable for one year of advanced study. Mr Beaulieu-Laroche will be graduating with a B.Sc., First Class Honours Neuroscience, and will be pursuing a a PhD in Neuroscience at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Bravo to Mr. Alexander Hofkirchner, a recipient of the Governor General's Silver Medal! He will be graduating with First Class Honours in Biology, Quantitative Biology Option.  The Governor General's Academic Medals are among the most prestigious awards for Canadian students, granted to students with the highest academic standing upon graduation, silver at the bachelor level and gold at the graduate level.         

The Faculty of Science is also delighted two announce two Fessenden Professorships in Science Innovation which promote the development of spin-off companies based on intellectually rigorous research. Prof. Kaleem Siddiqi, School of Computer Science, receives the award in recognition of his work in Modeling Heart Wall Myofibers. Prof. C.-J. Li, Department of Chemistry, is the second laureate, for his work in Catalytic Conversion of Methane and Natural Gas into High-Valued Aromatics, Hydrogen, and Liquid Fuels.

The Principal’s Prizes for Outstanding Emerging Researcher recognize researchers in the early stages of their careers – whatever their field – who are doing work of particular breadth, quality and merit. Two of the three recipients this year are from the Faculty of Science: Prof. Paul François, an Assistant Professor In the Department of Physics, and to Prof. Joelle Pineau, an Associate Professor at the School of Computer Science. You can read more about all three recipients in the McGill Reporter.

Prof. Carlos Morales, Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, is this year’s recipient of the Leo Yaffe Teaching Award. This award has been given each year since 1982 to “a member of the Faculty of Science for superior teaching at the undergraduate level in the Faculty of Science.”

Kudos to Mark Orchard-Webb, Department of Physics, winner of the Faculty of Science Excellence Award. This prize is granted annually to acknowledge outstanding performance and contribution by members of the Administrative and Support staff.

Back to top