The Ervin B. Podgorsak Fellowship

The McGill University Medical Physics Unit was delighted to establish a Fellowship in honour of the unit's former director and outstanding medical physicist Dr. Ervin B. Podgorsak.

Ervin B. Podgorsak

Dr. Podgorsak came to McGill in 1975. Since that time, he made significant contributions not only to the Medical Physics program at McGill but also to the entire field of Medical Physics.

Of his countless publications, he is best known for his work in radiosurgery dating back to the late 1980s. To the members and alumni of the MPU, he is perhaps better known as a teacher and a leader. He mentored over 190 students at McGill and directed the McGill MPU for nearly two decades.

On February 12, 2016, Dr. Podgorsak was invested as Member of the Order of Canada.

How to Give

You can contribute to the Ervin B. Podgorsak Fellowship fund by making a donation online or by phone:

Donation Services

McGill University Advancement

1555 Peel st, 9th floor

Montreal, QC H3A 3L8, Canada

Through your generosity we hope to continue Ervin Podgorsak’s legacy of teaching excellence at McGill.

Thank you for your support!





The Fellowship Fund

By creating this Fellowship, the MPU made a commitment to sustain Dr. Podgorsak’s dedication to academic excellence through increased student funding.

Through the generous support of our faculty, alumni, and friends, the MPU fundraising committee is maintaining a direct-spend fellowship fund by raising at least $10,000 per year.


Terms of Reference

(Approved: 11 July 2022)

The fellowship is to be awarded to an incoming student into the M.Sc. program with the highest cGPA based on their undergraduate transcript. The scholarship offer letter will be included along with the letter of offer into the M.Sc. program. For the fellowship to be held, the award recipient must accept the offer of admission and matriculate in the program. If the recipient declines the offer, the fellowship will be awarded to the student with the next highest cGPA.

The Podgorsak Fellowship award amount is $10000, regardless of student external funding status.



Inaugural recipient of the Ervin B. Podgorsak Fellowship:

Veng Jean Heng 2017-2018

Anastasia Kolokotronis 2018-2019


Sabrina Côté-Maldonado 2019-2020


Norman MacKay 2020-2021


Shogo Ushio 2021-2022


Sarah Konermann 2022-2023


Trey Chernoff 2023-2024


Back to top