McGill athletes score 19 bursaries at 25th Quebec Foundation sports gala



MONTREAL - Swimmer Steven Bielby of Pointe Claire, Que., and hockey player Francis Verreault-Paul of Mashteuiatsh, Que., were among 19 bursary recipients from McGill to be honoured at the 25th annual Quebec Foundation for University Athletics awards gala, Wednesday.


In all, 71 bursaries valued at $151,000, were handed out at the soiree, held before a crowd of 650 at the Delta hotel in downtown Montreal. Laval led all Quebec universities with 22 awards, followed by McGill (19), Montreal (16), Concordia (5), UQAM (4), Sherbrooke (3) and Bishop's (2).


Bielby, an electrical engineering junior with a 3.86 grade-point average (out of 4.0) received bursaries for both academic and athletic excellence, totalling $3,750. In fact, the all-Canadian sprinter and middle-distance specialist was honoured as the top male recipient in the academic category. He won gold in the 400-and 1500-metre freestyle, silver in the 400 individual medley and bronze in the 200 IM and 400 free at the CIS championships last winter. In October, Bielby was named as one the 2010 Desjardins CIS Top Eight Academic all-Canadians.


Verreault-Paul, a science junior who was unable to attend the event as he was playing with the Redmen in Trois-Rivieres, was named as the top male recipient for athletic excellence in a team sport. The speedy 5-foot-9, 178-pound left winger exploded for 25 goals and 54 points in 27 league outings in his sophomore season, tying him for the nation's lead in goals and giving him second place in the CIS scoring race. He was named league MVP and earned all-Canadian status.


Also honoured as coach of the year for a women's team sport was Marc Mounicot, bench boss of the Martlets soccer squad.


Other academic excellence honourees from McGill included Marc-André Dorion (hockey; St. Hubert, Que), who also received a second bursary for  athletic prowess. Rounding out McGill's academic awards was Annie Laforest (badminton; Laval, Que) and Madeleine de Lotbinière-Bassett (alpine skiing; Delta, BC).


Additional athletic awards went to Cathy Chartrand (hockey; Lac Nominingue, Que), Ann-Sophie Bettez (hockey, Sept-Iles, Que), Julia Bahen (soccer; Vancouver, BC) and Jonathan Collin (football; Greenfield Park, Que).


In addition, eight McGill students received prestigious recruitment bursaries, including basketball freshman sensation Simon Bibeau (St. Bruno, Que) and volleyball star Geneviève Plante, who each received their first instalment of a $7,000 bursary over three years. Other recruitment honourees were Kelsey Wilson (soccer; Pincourt, Que), Katia Clement-Heydra (hockey; St Bruno de Montarville, Que), Hannah Rivkin (soccer; St. John's, NL), Henry Pan (badminton; Saskatoon, Sask), Anneth Him-Lazarenko (basketball; Laval, Que) and Marie-Eve Martin (basketball; Granby, Que).



Earl Zukerman

McGill Athletics & Recreation