Marvin Corber, Doctor of Laws: volunteer and fundraiser who has participated in numerous campaigns for educational, health care and community organizations. In 2008, he and his wife established the Harriet and Marvin Corber Family Fund to support McGill Management students.

Robert B. Winsor, BEng’62, Doctor of Laws: owner, chairman and CEO of Holden America Group. He is also a devoted volunteer to many organizations, including the Nature Conservancy of Canada and the Special Olympics Canada Foundation Board.

Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Doctor of Science: groundbreaking researcher and tireless advocate for increasing the number of women working in science.

The Right Honourable Joe Clark, Doctor of Laws: Canada’s sixteenth prime minister and a statesman focused on promoting human rights and the democratic process.

Lorna Crozier, Doctor of Letters: teacher and Governor General’s Award-winning poet, whose work explores language and memory.

The Honourable René Dussault, Doctor of Letters: distinguished jurist, humanitarian and Justice of the Quebec Court of Appeal. Dussault also co-chaired the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples in response to the Oka Crisis.

Robert Godin, Doctor of Music: musician and entrepreneur whose innovative Montreal-based business, Godin Guitars, delivers hand-finished instruments to the world’s finest musical artists.

Daniel Kahneman, Doctor of Letters: winner of the 2002 Nobel Prize in Economics. An expert on both the economic decision-making process and hedonic psychology, Kahneman is considered the father of behavioural economics.

Martti Koskenniemi, Doctor of Laws: professor of international law at the University of Helsinki and author whose books have inspired students and scholars to challenge assumptions in international law practice.

Patrick Lane, Doctor of Letters: poet whose meditations on nature, violence, human frailties and love have won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize and the Governor General’s Award.

Arthur C. F. Lau, BArch’62, Doctor of Science: accomplished architect who has contributed to such high-profile projects as Expo ’67 and the Standard Life Centre in Toronto, as well as urban planning projects around the world.

L. Jacques Ménard, Doctor of Laws: chairman of BMO Nesbitt Burns, president of BMO Financial Group, Québec, and philanthropist who is deeply committed to increasing education opportunities for all Quebecers.

Nubia Muñoz, Doctor of Science: cancer researcher and influential proponent for the health and well-being of women living in the world’s poorest countries.

N. R. Narayana Murthy, Doctor of Science: entrepreneur known as “the Father of the Indian IT sector and philanthropist whose scholarship program helps underprivileged children pursue their education.

John O’Keefe, MA’64, PhD’67, Doctor of Science: co-winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Medicine for his discovery of the hippocampus’s “place cell,” which helps the brain orient itself in space.

Constance Pathy, LMus’71, LMus’86, Doctor of Music: musician and president of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, and recipient of the Governor General’s Award for her volunteerism and commitment to the arts.

Harold Charles Slavkin, Doctor of Science: leading researcher on the genetics of craniofacial, oral and dental development and lifelong advocate for increased access to health care for underserved populations.

Jozef Vercruysse, Doctor of Science: leader in the field of animal health and tropical medicine and advisor to the United Nations and the World Health Organization.

Back to top