University Teaching Labs Working Group (UTLWG)


The University Teaching Labs Working Group (UTLWG) endeavors to enhance teaching and learning at McGill by creating a vision for university teaching lab development that is aligned with University strategic directions. Its mandate is to:

  1. Identify needs for teaching laboratories.
  2. Establish pedagogical and technical principles for the renovation and upgrade of teaching laboratories.
  3. Establish priorities for improvements (upgrades, repairs) to teaching laboratories across the University, and new teaching laboratories.
  4. Position the University to benefit from funding opportunities that may arise (e.g. through Campaign McGill). 
  5. Recommend funding for the creation, upgrade and maintenance of teaching laboratories and related equipment.
  6. Contribute to submissions to MESRST (formerly MELS) for the plan quinquennal regarding facilities development.