Research Advisory Council

Overview and context

The Research Advisory Council (RAC) is the primary advising body to the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) (VPRI) and is consulted on University-wide research dossiers under the portfolio of Research and Innovation activities at McGill.

Chaired by the VPRI, the members of RAC provide feedback, advice and recommendations to the VPRI on strategic and operational dossiers including (but not limited to): development of policy and procedures; strategic research planning; resource allocation, such as internal funding programs; processes for research administration; and development projects, such as the Strategic Reframing Initiative. Learn more >>


RAC members

  • Anila Ashgar, Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies), Faculty of Education
  • Shari Baum, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Medicine
  • Benoit Boulet, Associate Dean (Research and Innovation), Faculty of Engineering
  • Ashley Chin, Graduate Student, Department of Experimental Medicine, Faculty of Medicine
  • James Engle-Warnick, Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies), Faculty of Arts
  • Ichiro Fujinaga, Associate Dean (Research and Administration), Schulich School of Music
  • Subhasis Ghoshal, Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
  • Rose Goldstein, RAC Chair; and Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)
  • Philippe Gros, Vice-Dean, Life Sciences, Faculty of Medicine
  • Peter Grütter, Chair, Department of Physics; and Coordinator, Engineering and Science Research and Innovation, Research and Innovation
  • Eugene Kang, Graduate Student, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Faculty of Medicine
  • Salwa Karboune, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Lara Khoury, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Law
  • Brigitte Kieffer, Scientific Director, Douglas Research Institute
  • Ghyslaine McClure, Associate Provost, Budget and Resources
  • Rod McInnes , Director, Lady Davis Research Institute, Jewish General Hospital
  • Anne McKinney, Associate Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)
  • Claudia Mitchell, Department of Integrated Studies in Education, Faculty of Education
  • Josephine Nalbantoglu, Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Philip Oxhorn, Associate Provost (International)
  • Doina Precup, Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies), Faculty of Science
  • Saibal Ray, Vice-Dean (Faculty and Research), Desautels Faculty of Management
  • Nancy Ross, Associate Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)
  • Lisa Starr, Postdoctoral Student, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Faculty of Medicine
  • Maryam Tabrizian, Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies), Faculty of Dentistry
  • Donald Van Meyel (delegate for Vassilios Papadopoulos, Director), RI-MUHC
  • Wieslaw Woszczyk, Department of Music Research, Schulich School of Music

Meetings for Academic Year 2016-2017

  • October 18, 2016
  • December 20, 2016
  • February 21, 2017
  • April 25, 2017


If you have questions about RAC, please contact linda [dot] rice [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Linda Rice) in Research and Innovation.