Principal Investigator and Lab Members

Dr. Anie Philip

Professor, Department of Surgery

Research Interests

My research interests are focused on the regulation of TGF-beta action in biological processes including cutaneous wound healing and scarring and cartilage repair, and in human diseases such as scleroderma and Dupuytren’s Disease (fibrosis), squamous cell carcinoma and osteoarthritis.

Current Appointments and Affiliations:

Tenured Full Professor, Department of Surgery, McGill University (2011-present)

Director, Plastic Surgery Research (2013-2020)

Graduate Program Director, Experimental Surgery, McGill University (2013-2020)

Senior Scientist, RI MUHC McGill University (1994-present)

Professor (Associate Member), Dermatology, Medicine, McGill University (2011-present)

Professor (Associate Member), Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medicine, McGill University (2011-present)

President, Skin Research Group Canada (2019-2020)

Co-Chair, Skin Research Group Canada (2014-2019)

Board member, Wound Healing Society USA (2016-2019)



Current Lab Members:

Dr. Anie Philip, PhD, Principal Investigator


Dr. Kenneth Finnson, PhD, Senior Research Associate (2003-present)


Dr. Amani Hassan, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow  (2019-present)


Dr. Tenzin Kungyal, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow (2020-present)


Dr. Maha Alsharqi, MD, MSc Candidate (2019-present)


Ms. Meryem Blati, Lab Manager (2016-present)


Past Lab Members

Dr. Faegheh Ghanbari, PhD Student (2016-2021)


Dr. Yasser Almadani, MSc Student (2018-2020)


Dr. Shufeng Zhou, PhD Student (2015-2019)


Dr. Ahmad Qattan, MSc Student (2016-2018)


Dr. Liqin Xu, MSc Student (2015-2018)


Dr. Yunling Wang, Research Associate (2015-2017)


Dr. Bianief Tchiloemba, Summer Student (2017)


Dr. Priyanka Sehgal, Postdoctoral Fellow (2013-2016)


Dr. Christopher Nguyen, Undergraduate Trainee (2013-2016)


Dr. Yoon Chi, PhD Student (2009-2015)


Dr. Carter Li, PhD Student (2008-2015)


Dr. Hari Boppudi, Postdoctoral Fellow (2011-2015)


Chris Chiavatti, Lab Manager (2012-2015)


Ms Tam Nguyen, Undergraduate Trainee (2014-2015)


Dr. Anas Alzahrani, Postdoctoral Fellow (2012-2014)


Dr. Surya Sakr, Undergraduate Trainee (2012-2014)


Dr. Joshua Vorstenbosch, PhD Student (2007-2013)


Ms. Aya Siblini, MSc Student (2011-2013)


Dr. Irvens Fanelus, Postdoctoral Fellow (2011-2013)


Dr. Nikolaj Zhygan, Summer Student (2012-2013)


Dr. Anshuman Saksena, Lab Manager (2006-2013)


Dr. Ivan Litvinov, Postdoctoral Fellow (2009-2012)


Dr. Albane Bizet, PhD Student (2006-2011)


Dr. Ali Boualegue, Postdoctoral Fellow (2010-2011)


Dr. Melani Lighter, MSc Student (2009-2011)


Dr. Sebastian Winocour, MSc Student (2008-2010)


Ms. Wendan Chen, MSc Student (2008-2010)


Dr. Xiao-Yong Man, Postdoctoral Fellow (2008-2010)


Margarita Chtein, Lab Manager (2009-2010)


Kelita Singh, Summer Student (2010)


Dr. Hasan Alajmi, Postdoctoral Fellow (2007-2008)


Ms. Andrea Hebert-Losier, MSc Student (2005-2008)


Dr. Hahn Soe-Lin, MSc Student (2004-2007)


Dr. Kai Liu, Postdoctoral Fellow (2004-2006)


Ms. Anne Marcoux, MSc Student (2003-2005)


Ms. Ranuka Negi, MSc Student (2001-2004) 


Dr. Roya Haghighat, PhD Student (1998-2004)


Dr. Jintang Wang, Postdoctoral Fellow (2001-2003)


Dr. Wendy Parker, PhD Student (2000-2003)


Mr. Mizan Chowdhury, MSc Student (2000-2002)


Ms. Soo Wong, MSc Student (1997-2000)


Dr. Betty Tam, PhD Student (1995-2001)


Dr. Nancy Dumont, MSc Student (1994-1996)


Back to top