News & Events

The TCP (Transition to Clinical Practice)Teaching Awards for Ophthalmology were given to Dr. Leonard A. Levin (faculty award) and R4 resident Andre Ali-Ridha (resident award), at a ceremony at the Deanery, Faculty of Medicine, on February 8, 2018. These awards are given by the 2nd year medical students in the TCP program. The department congratulates both winners!

Andre Ali-Ridha and Dr. Levin

Andre Ali-Ridha and Dr. Discepola

The Annual Lions Outreach Eye Clinic, held in collaboration with the Montreal Chinese Lions Club, was held on Saturday, November 25, 2017 at the McGill Academic Eye Centre. For more information, check out the Facebook page or send us an [at] (subject: Information%20about%20Lions%20Clinic) (email.) 


The 2017-2018 Continuing Professional Development Series at the Faculty of Medicine, McGill University, features lectures by Dr. Oscar Kasner, Dr. Mark Gans, Dr. Leonard A. Levin, Dr. Christian El-Haddad, Dr. David Lederer, and Dr. Susan Lindley. For schedules and locations, visit the website of the McGill Continuing Professional Development website for schedules of the Thursday Evening Learning Series (TELS) and the Wednesday E-Learning Series (WELS).

Thursday Evening Learning Series, McIntyre Medical Building

November 23, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Glaucoma:  What You Really Need to Know

Dr. Oscar Kasner

November 23, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Silent Blinders:  What Not to Miss

Dr. Mark Gans

February 8, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Truth and Lies Behind the Ophthalmic Exam

Dr. Leonard A. Levin

February 8, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Emergency Ophthalmology

Dr. Christian El-Haddad

Wednesday E-Learning Series (by webinar, click on link at Wednesday E-Learning Series (WELS) for more information) 

November 8, 2017 at 12:00 pm Diabetic Retinopathy Dr. David Lederer
March 14, 2018 at 12:00 pm Northern Ophthalmology at McGill Dr. Susan Lindley


Residents Dr. Andre Ali-Ridha, Dr. Aaron Rosen, and Dr. Catherine Liu, with support from the McGill Glaucoma Information Centre, answered ophthalmology-related questions at the recent McGill Health Fair on Friday, October 20, 2017 from 11:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.. The annual fair is located at the Ballroom of the New Residence Hall, 3625 ave. du Parc, Montreal H2X 3P8. This year, our residents answered questions ranging from dry eyes to cataracts and laser eye surgery. 





Congratulations to our residents and clinical faculty who were awarded prizes at the Resident’s Graduation Dinner on Saturday, June 10, 2017 at La Plaza.

Residents awards

  • Dr. Michael Ross – Leadership Award
  • Dr. Lauren French – Cataract Surgical Skills Award
  • Dr. Susan Wakil – Surgical Skills Award
  • Dr. Mikel Mikhail – Highest Academic Award
  • Dr. Henry Fung – Medical Student Teaching Award

Clinical Faculty awards

  • Dr. Devinder Cheema – Best Clinical Teacher
  • Dr. Jean Deschênes – Best Cataract Teacher
  • Dr. Johanna Choremis – Best Surgical Teacher


Congratulations to prize winners at the Department of Ophthalmology Research Day, held at the MUHC-Research Institute on June 9, 2017, Uzair Khan (1st prize - Talk), Philip Cooper (2nd prize - Talk), Andre Ali-Ridha (1st prize - Poster), and Nabeel Shalabi (2nd prize - Poster).


The Department of Ophthalmology is pleased to announce the 2016 winners of the Sean Murphy Resident Award for Research. Congratulations to 2nd year resident Dr. Fatma Zaguia for her project ''Electronic Tracking of Surgical Teaching: Implications in Resident Cataract Education'' and 3rd year resident Dr. Debra-Meghan Sanft for her project ''The Histopathological Correlation of Eyelid Basal Cell Carcinoma and Optical Coherence Tomography''.


Dr. Christian El-Hadad, Chief Resident, was a finalist for the Prix Excelsior award, given by the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec. Dr. El-Hadad was nominated for his work in organizing the Lions Club Eye Clinic at the McGill Academic Eye Centre in 2016, where 140 people received care, more than half of whom were Syrian refugees.


More news, updates, and events in our department can be found by accessing the menu on the left.