Departmental Fellowships

The department awards several fellowships to its current graduate students, and will solicit applications from students at the appropriate times.

Rathlyn Fellowship in Geography

$2,500 annually (minimum), renewable once at the master's level and twice at the doctoral level.

Established in 1986, the fellowship is available to graduate students whose research involves GIS and may be shared by more than one applicant.

Eligibility: The fellowship will be awarded on the basis of strong academic standing by the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research upon the recommendation of the Department of Geography.

John Bradbury Award

$1000, nonrenewable.

This award was established in memory of John Bradbury, who inspired students and colleagues alike with his enthusiasm for understanding the world, and his commitment to improving the working conditions of ordinary people.

Eligibility: Awarded annually to a master's student in Geography, alternately from McGill and Simon Fraser, whose thesis topic is related to John Bradbury's research interest in the economic geography of Canadian resource towns and international development, especially economic and social problems of resource town planning, economic restructuring, housing, class conflict and gender and work.

Rathlyn Geography Fieldwork Fund


Eligibility: Awarded to students working on development issues worldwide and is intended to help defray travel or other research costs.

Theo Hills Development Award

variable value.

Eligibility: Awarded to students working on Global South development issues

Back to top