Department of English Student Association (DESA)

The DESA executive is an elected student organization in the Department that represents every student who has declared a Major, Minor, or Honours concentration in an English program. As a social, cultural, political, and educational organization for students, DESA performs the functions of student government and representation at the departmental level.

The executive holds weekly office hours for peer advising; plans social events such as readings, wine and cheese receptions, and weekend trips; provides opportunities for extracurricular creative work; offers liaison with faculty and administration on behalf of students; and informs students of the goings-on within the department and in the Montreal community.

To contact the DESA executive, send an email to desamcgill [at] gmail.com. Also stay updated through our Facebook page and Linktree.

DESA holds weekly office hours on the department-wide Discord server. See the office hours schedule.

If there’s anything DESA can help you with, from suggesting or advertising events to peer-to-peer advice, get in touch with the executive!

2023-2024 DESA Executive

Co-Presidents
Natasha Kinne: natasha.kinne [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Sophie Semeniuk: sophie.semeniuk [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Co-VP Academics
Haider Ali: syed.h.ali [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Flora Situ: jiayi.situ [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Communications
Fiona Coughlin fiona.coughlin [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Events
Sariah Hossain sariah.hossain [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP External
Amalia Mairet: amalia.mairet [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Finance
Julie Jacques: julie.jacques [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Karol Kapsa: karol.kapsa [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Internal
Avryl Bender: avryl.bender [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Journals
Arismita Ghosh: arismita.ghosh [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Drama and Theatre Representative
Francesco Cremonini: francesco.cremonini [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Literature Representative
Gaëlle Perron: gaelle.perron [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Jacob Sponga: jacob.sponga [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Cultural Studies Representative
Jane Carli jane.carli [at] mail.mcgill.ca

U1 Representative
Samantha Pierotti samantha.pierotti [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Back to top