Department of English Student Association (DESA)

The DESA executive is an elected student organization in the Department that represents every student who has declared a Major, Minor, or Honours concentration in an English program. As a social, cultural, political, and educational organization for students, DESA performs the functions of student government and representation at the departmental level.

The executive holds weekly office hours for peer advising; plans social events such as readings, wine and cheese receptions, and weekend trips; provides opportunities for extracurricular creative work; offers liaison with faculty and administration on behalf of students; and informs students of the goings-on within the department and in the Montreal community.

To contact the DESA executive, send an email to desamcgill [at] gmail.com.
Also stay updated through our Facebook page and Linktree.

DESA holds weekly office hours on the department-wide Discord server. The schedule can be found here.


If there’s anything DESA can help you with, from suggesting or advertising events to peer-to-peer advice, get in touch with the executive!

2021-2022 DESA executive:

Co-Presidents:
Faith Ruetas: faith.ruetas [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Elizabeth Schulz: elizabeth.schulz [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Academic:
Natasha Kinne: natasha.kinne [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Internal:
Faith Ruetas: faith.ruetas [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP External:
Sophie Semeniuk: sophie.semeniuk [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Journals:
Chantay Alexander: chantay.alexander [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Finance:
Jiayu Huang: jiayu.huang [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Co-VP Events:
Mahnoor Chaudhry: mahnoor.chaudhry [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Sarah Chaddock: sarah.chaddock [at] mail.mcgill.ca

VP Communications:
Elizabeth Schulz: elizabeth.schulz [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Literature Representative:
Nawaal Bhuiyan: noor.bhuiyan [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Drama & Theatre Representative:
Francesco Cremonini: francesco.cremonini [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Cultural Student Representative:
Mitchell Horwood: mitchell.horwood [at] mail.mcgill.ca

U1 Representative:
Hannah Clarke-Andrews: hannah.clarke-andrews [at] mail.mcgill.ca

 

Back to top